May 9, 2011 - by
Kittleson And Koepka: All-ACC

May 9, 2011

Florida State University golfers Drew Kittleson and Brooks Koepka have been named to the All-ACC Men’s Golf Team in a vote by the league’s 11 head coaches and announced by the league office. It marks the second time both players have earned All-ACC honors in their career and the school record fifth consecutive season that two Seminoles have been named to the All-ACC team.

Kittleson, who is averaging a career-low 72.30 strokes per round this season, makes his second appearance on the All-ACC team – he was also a member of the team in 2009. Koepka, who leads the team with a career low 71.73 scoring average, was also an All-ACC selection in 2010.

“I am really happy for Drew and Brooks because both players are very deserving of this honor,” said head coach Trey Jones. “For both players to earn All-ACC honors twice during their careers in one of the premier leagues in all of college golf is quite an accomplishment. There is still a lot of golf to be played this season and earning All-ACC honors will be a big boost to the confidence levels of both Drew and Brooks and our entire team.”

Kittleson (Scottsdale, Az.) and Koepka (Wellington, Fla.) are the ninth and 10th Seminoles to earn All-ACC honors in the last five year under Jones. Prior to Jones’s arrival in 2004 a total of five players had earned All-ACC honors in men’s golf since Florida State joined the ACC for the 1992 golf season. Since his arrival as head coach, the Seminoles have earned 10 All-ACC selections (all since 2007), had one player earn ACC Rookie (Koepka in 2009) and ACC Player (Koepka in 2010) of the year honors and won the first ACC Championship title in the sport of golf in school history in 2008.

In addition, Kittleson and Koepka are the fourth and fifth players in school history to earn All-ACC honors in men’s golf multiple times during their careers. Seminole All-American Matt Savage earned All-ACC honors a school record three times during his career (2007, 2008, 2009) while Kittleson (2009 and 2011), Koepka (2010 and 2011), Jonas Blixt (2007 and 2008) and Christian Raynor (1994 and 1995) earned All-ACC honors twice during their careers.

Kittleson earned the individual championships at both the Gator Invitational and the Seminole Intercollegiate this spring and is one of only six ACC players who have won multiple events this year. He finished in a tie for sixth place in the ACC Championship in April and was named the ACC Golfer of the Month in March. Kittleson is a total of minus six strokes under par in six events during the spring 2011 season.

“It’s exciting to be named to the All-ACC team as a senior,” said Kittleson. “A lot of credit has to go to Coach Jones and Coach Savoie who have really helped me with every part of my game this year. After a long layoff, we are really looking forward to regionals next week hopefully to playing in nationals again as a team.”

Koepka is ranked seventh in the ACC the national GolfStat rankings and finished in a tie for 10th place in the ACC Championships in April. He has finished in the top 10 of the individual standings in more than 50 percent of his events this season (six of 11) and is minus six strokes under par with four top 10 individual finishes in the last five events.

“For Drew and me to both earn All-ACC honors is a tribute to our coaching staff and our teammates,” said Koepka. “Our coaches have really prepared us to play this season and have put us in a great position to play against great teams and great players. All of our teammates have helped make us better players and that has helped make us a better team.”

The Seminoles are expected to earn a bid to the NCAA regional championships on Monday night. The announcement is scheduled for 6:00 p.m. and can be found almost immediately on
2011 All-ACC Men’s Golf Team

Name                  School          Yr     Hometown
Drew Kittleson        Florida State   Sr     Scottsdale, Ariz.
Brooks Koepka         Florida State   Jr     Wellington, Fla.
Brinson Paolini       Duke            So     Virginia Beach, Va.
John-Tyler Griffin    Georgia Tech    Sr     Wilson, N.C.
Paul Haley            Georgia Tech    Sr     Dallas, Tex.
Kyle Scott            Georgia Tech    Sr     Johannesburg, South Africa
James White           Georgia Tech    Jr     Acworth, Ga.
Albin Choi            NC State        Fr     Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Mitchell Sutton       NC State        So     London, Ontario, Canada
Ben Kohles            Virginia        Jr     Cary, N.C.
Evan Beck             Wake Forest     So     Virginia Beach, Va.
Lee Bedford           Wake Forest     Jr     Cary, N.C.

ACC Player of the Year
Ben Kohles, Virginia

ACC Freshman of the Year
Albin Choi, NC State (unanimous)

ACC Coach of the Year

Bruce Heppler, Georgia Tech  
Related Articles