March 15, 2018
Klaevemann And Hanson Named 2018 Senior CLASS Candidates

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Seminole seniors Morgan Klaevemann and Kylee Hanson were selected as two of the top 30 candidates for the 2018 Senior CLASS Award in collegiate softball, as announced today by Premier Sports Management. Florida State is one of two schools, along with LSU, to have multiple members among the Top 30 candidates.

To be eligible for the award, a student-athlete must be classified as an NCAA Division I senior and have notable achievements in four areas of excellence: community, classroom, character and competition.

An acronym for Celebrating Loyalty and Achievement for Staying in School®, the Senior CLASS Award focuses on the total student-athlete and encourages students to use their platform in athletics to make a positive impact as leaders in their communities.

Florida State has had three student-athletes win the Senior CLASS Award, including Baseball’s James Ramsey in 2012 and Softball’s Lacey Waldrop (2015) and Alex Powers (2017).

“What an honor for the two of them,” said FSU head coach Lonni Alameda. “They’ve worked so hard in the classroom and it is something the entire team focuses on and is a big part of being a student-athlete here at Florida State.

“Kylee came in as a grad student and I know it is difficult to balance not only that level of education and softball, but to do it at a new school with a new team is impressive and she takes a lot of pride in being successful in each of those areas. We all know Morgan and how hard she works. She is a student of the game and wants to do so many things in life, you know be a veterinarian, go to architecture school, be a lawyer, who knows. But she loves being in the classroom and I know she’ll be successful in whatever she ends up pursuing.”

Klaevemann has been an excellent student throughout her career at Florida State, earning a spot on the Florida State University Dean’s List four times and being named to the Atlantic Coast Conference All-Academic Team in each of her first three seasons. She was named to the Academic All-Region Team by the College Sports Information Directors of America in 2016 and became a CoSIDA Academic All-American in 2017.

She added athletic All-American honors as well in 2017, and has been a member of the All-ACC First Team in each season. She is already in the FSU Top 10 in career stolen bases (116 – fourth), walks (112 – seventh) and runs scored (173 – seventh). Her current career batting average of .379 is on pace to break the Seminole record of .366 set by Shamalene Wilson from 1993-96.

Klaevemann has been a member of the Florida State Softball “TRIBE” for all four years. This group helps organize and participate in numerous community service events on campus and in Tallahassee. She has been a part of street clean-ups, reading at elementary schools, assisting with Relay for Life events and many others. In each of her years at FSU, she has helped the softball team finish in the top two of Florida State’s Director’s Cup, which is given to the sport program with the most community service hours, taking the title in 2015 and 2016.

Hanson excelled at Florida Atlantic University before coming to Florida State to enroll in graduate school. While at FAU, she earned a spot on the dean’s list four times, including earning a perfect 4.0 GPA in the spring of 2017. She placed on the Conference USA Academic Honor Roll in all eight semesters she attended FAU and graduated with a cumulative GPA of 3.7 and a degree in healthcare administration from the FAU College of Business.

On the field, Hanson was unmatched in the circle for Florida Atlantic. In her best season, 2016, she was named the Conference USA Female Athlete of the Year across all sports and was an NFCA Second Team All-American. She led the NCAA with a 0.79 earned-run average and was a Top 10 finalist for the USA Softball Collegiate Player of the Year. She was C-USA Pitcher of the Year in 2016 and a first-team All-Conference member in 2015 and 2016. She earned Conference USA Pitcher of the Week honors 13 times during her career and earned NFCA All-Region honors in 2015 and 2016. So far in 2018 for Florida State, she leads the ACC with a 0.93 ERA and holds a 9-3 record with 84 strikeouts.

Hanson has always been a leader in whichever situation she finds herself. She was named team captain for Florida Atlantic in 2016 and 2017 and was a foundation of their success. From 2015 to 2017, she was a member of the Florida Atlantic team mentor program for student-athletes to meet with kids and help teach, develop and lead them in and through all kinds of life situations. After suffering a season-ending injury in the opening weeks of the 2017 season, she worked to get back in physical shape and also finished her bachelor’s degree in order to continue her career attending graduate school at Florida State.

The 30 candidates will be narrowed to 10 finalists later in the season, and those 10 names will be placed on the official ballot. Ballots will be distributed through a nationwide voting system to media, coaches and fans, who will select one candidate who best exemplifies excellence in the four Cs of community, classroom, character and competition.

The Senior CLASS Award winner will be announced during the 2018 Women’s College World Series®. For more information on all the candidates, visit

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.

2018 Softball Senior CLASS Candidates
Precious Birdsong, Middle Tennessee State
Rebecca Blitz, Indiana
Devin Brown, South Alabama
Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
Ivie Drake, Georgia State
Lea Foerster, Michigan State
Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
Kylee Hanson, Florida State
Brittany Hitchcock, Hawaii
Carley Hoover, LSU
Gabrielle Kelliher, Marist
Morgan Klaevemann, Florida State
Meghan Kovac, Bucknell
Kayli Kvistad, Florida
Emily Lochten, Florida Atlantic
Briana Matazinsky, Manhattan
Paige Parker, Oklahoma
Kylee Perez, UCLA
Erika Piancastelli, McNeese State
Randi Rupp, Texas State
Jacquelyn Sertic, North Dakota State
Vanessa Shippy, Oklahoma State
Taylor Van Zee, Washington
Tori Vidales, Texas A&M
Alexis Walkden, Seton Hall
Carlee Wallace, Baylor
Allie Walljasper, LSU
Emily Watson, Tulsa
Taylor White, Ohio State
Carolyn Wright, Lehigh

Related Articles