September 6, 2017
Koepka, Berger Make Presidents Cup

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. ( – Florida State Men’s Golf Alums Brooks Koepka and Daniel Berger earned more distinct honors on Tuesday, officially being named to the 2017 United States Presidents Cup team.

Since 1994, the Presidents Cup has been a series of golf matches that pits the best from the United States against an International Team that represents the rest of the world except Europe. The United States and Europe already participate in the Ryder Cup, which Koepka took part in last year.

Koepka and Berger each qualified by finishing in the Top 10 of the FedExCup points standings from Sept. 15, 2015, through Sept. 4, 2017. Berger, who golfed at FSU in 2012 and 2013, placed fifth. Koepka (2009-12) finished sixth.

Joining the two Seminole standouts on the United States team are Dustin Johnson, Jordan Spieth, Justin Thomas, Rickie Fowler, Kevin Kisner, Patrick Reed, Matt Kuchar and Kevin Chappell. A final Captain’s pick will be named this month.

Only the University of Georgia and Florida State University have multiple participants on the United States team so far, as Kisner and Reed represent the Bulldogs.

Koepka and Berger have come along in the last two years as two of the PGA Tour’s brightest young stars. Berger won the FedEx St. Jude Classic in consecutive years in Memphis, Tenn., resulting in his first President’s Cup berth.

Koepka gained enormous fame after putting an impressive performance at the 2017 U.S. Open in Erin Hills, Wis. The West Palm Beach, Fla., native shot a 16-under par to tie the tournament scoring record set by Rory McIlroy in 2011. The FSU Men’s Golf team will be at the site of Koepka’s grand performance this fall, playing in the Marquette Intercollegiate from Oct. 1-3 at Erin Hills.

Koepka wound up having the lowest aggregate combined score in the four major championships in 2017, finishing at 21-under total.

The Presidents Cup will be held at Liberty National Golf Club in Jersey City, N.J. On Thursday (Sept. 28), Saturday (Sept. 30) and Sunday (Oct. 1) live coverage will happen on NBC, while Friday’s second-round coverage (Sept. 29) will occur on the Golf Channel.

Related Articles