April 21, 2014 - by
Looking Back At A Pair Of Champions

April 21, 2014

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Collectively and individually, the Florida State men’s and women’s track & field teams piled up an impressive list of accomplishments en route to their sweep of Atlantic Coast Conference Outdoor Championships team titles Saturday at Irwin Belk Track and Fetzer Field.

From a program-wide perspective, Florida State is just the third school in the history of the ACC to sweep the men’s and women’s Indoor and Outdoor Championship team titles in the same year, and the first school to do it twice. The Seminoles did it last, in 2009, while North Carolina first accomplished the feat in 1995.

The Seminole women also completed their season-long goal of claiming the ACC Triple Crown – team titles in cross country, indoor and outdoor – by ending Clemson’s four-year outdoor conference reign. FSU outscored runner-up Notre Dame 111-96, with Miami close behind with 94 points. Florida State is just the fourth ACC women’s program to claim the Triple Crown, duplicating its 2009 sweep and joining the North Carolina teams from 1994-95 and 2003-04.

Among the other noteworthy team accomplishments for the Seminoles:

• FSU’s women won the outdoor championship for just the third time in school history, joining the 2009 and 2000 squads;
• The Florida State men were crowned outdoor champions for the 10th time – all since 2002 – though the `Noles have carried home the trophy now 11 times in that stretch. (The 2007 title was vacated);
• Florida State now trails only Maryland (26 titles) and Clemson (11) for the most men’s team titles in ACC history.

Locke repeats to extend Seminole MVP streak
Senior sprinter Dentarius Locke (Tampa, Fla.) was named the Men’s ACC Outdoor Championships Track MVP for the second consecutive year. Locke was the top point-scorer for the Seminoles after winning the 100-meter dash (10.16) and contributing to the championship 4×100 relay team (40.19). He was also third in the 200-meter dash (20.75) and a member of FSU’s bronze medal 4×400 relay (3:06.76).

In the process of collecting his second consecutive MVP trophy, Locke extended the streak of consecutive Seminole winners to five years. Maurice Mitchell won three consecutive Track MVP honors (2010-12).

On the strength of his performance, Locke was also selected as the USTFCCCA Men’s Division I National Performer of the Week. He is the first Seminole – man or woman – to earn the distinction since the weekly awards were adopted for the 2012-13 school year.

Men’s Highlights
The Seminole men had no margin for error en route to pulling out the team title. FSU’s three-point victory over host North Carolina (113-110) was the closest finish between men’s teams at the ACC Outdoor Championships since the Seminoles tied Virginia for the title in 2009.

There were a multitude of pivotal points won on the final day, beyond those by the individual champions, including: Jake Burton’s fourth-place (5 points) finish in the 800; finish Glen Yarham’s sixth-place (3 points) in the 5000-meter run; Chad DaCosta’s seventh-place (2 points) finish in the discus; Garrett Singletary’s eighth-place (1 point) javelin finish and the 3-4 finish (11 points) by Locke and James Harris in the 200, which negated Tar Heel Ceo Ways’ runner-up finish (8 points).

Among other accomplishments by the Seminole men, were:

• Locke’s victory in the 100-meter dash final extended FSU’s streak of consecutive ACC champions in the premier sprint event to five. He is the first repeat winner among `Noles, following Maurice Mitchell (2010), Ngoni Makusha (2011) and Kemar Hyman (2012);
• Senior James Harris’ victory in the high jump marked the first time the Seminoles have produced the ACC Outdoor champion in that event since Shawn Brown’s meet-record winning performance in 2001;
• Sophomore Otniel Teixeira, a transfer from USF, became the Seminoles’ first ACC 800-meter champion since Tom Lancashire pulled off the 800/1500 double at the 2005 championship meet;
• As streaks go the `Noles are building another impressive one after winning the 4×100 relay title for the sixth consecutive year (40.19). FSU received big lifts from football players John Franklin III and Jalen Ramsey, who teamed with Locke and Harris to win going away;
• Yarham was the only Seminole to post a top 10 performance in school history as his time of 29:15.53 in the 10,000 meters moved him up to eighth place on FSU’s career list;
• Among the `Noles who substantially improved their national rankings, Locke’s 100-meter debut (10.16) is tied for sixth nationally. The 4×400 relay team (3:06.76) ranks 11th, while Paul Madzivire and Jalen Ramsey are now tied for 21st nationally in the long jump (7.62m/25-0);
• Madzivire and Ramsey finished with the exact same mark as gold medalist
• Florida State came away with four event wins at the meet to lead all schools in gold medals. Virginia and Virginia Tech won three events each, in what turned out to be an extremely well-balanced meet. In all, 10 of 15 schools competing crowned at least one champion.

Women’s Highlights
The Seminole women built a 30-point lead entering the final day of the competition and held that throughout much of Saturday until Miami and Notre Dame came charging up the team leaderboard. The `Noles eventually prevail by a 15-point margin over Notre Dame (17 over Miami), on the strength of their depth.

FSU’s women won four events, which ranked second among the 15 teams competing (Miami won five). Nine different schools won at least one gold medal.

Grete Sadeiko produced a new Florida State record with 5706 points while winning gold in the heptathlon. Sadeiko, a redshirt freshman, is the first Seminole to win an ACC heptathlon title since Chinette Johnson rattled off three in a row (1998-2000). Her total ranks No. 4 nationally;
Hannah Walker finished second in the 10,000-meter run in 32:56.90, which ranks No. 2 all-time among Seminoles and was also faster than the previous ACC Championship meet record. Walker now ranks No. 5 nationally;
• Sophomore Der’Renae Freeman’s long jump victory, covering 6.34 meters (20-9.75) on her sixth and final attempt moved her to No. 6 on FSU’s all-time list and tied for 9th nationally this season;
• Among other new FSU top-10 standards established at the ACC meet were: Karly Jackson in the pole vault (3.98m/No. 4); Sadeiko in the high jump (1.76m/No. 6) and Alejandra Martinez’s 4,639 points in the heptathlon (No. 10);
• Sophomore Kellion Knibb won her second consecutive ACC Outdoor title in the discus on the strength of her first throw attempt of 53.94 meters (177-0). Knibb also fouled – barely – on a throw of 56.79 meters, which would have established a new ACC meet record.

All-ACC Honorees – Women
Colleen Quigley, 3000 Steeplechase (1st)
Pippa Woolven, 3000 Steeplechase (3rd)
Hannah Walker, 10,000 (2nd)
Anne Zagre, 100-meter hurdles (3rd)
Der’Renae Freeman, long jump (1st)
Kellion Knibb, discus (1st)
Grete Sadeiko , heptathlon (1st)

All-ACC Honorees – Meet
Dentarius Locke, 100-meter dash (1st)
Dentarius Locke, 200-meter dash (3rd)
Otniel Teixeira, 800 meters (1st)
Glen Yarham, 10,000 meters (3rd)
James Harris, high jump (1st)
Paul Madzivire, long jump (2nd)
Jalen Ramsey, long jump (3rd)
Markindey Sineus, hammer (2nd)
4×100 Relay (1st) – John Franklin III, Locke, Ramsey, Harris

Related Articles