April 30, 2010 - by
Malloy A Top 10 Assistant Coach

April 30, 2010

Chris Malloy, an assistant golf coach at Florida State University, has been named one of 10 finalists for the Jan Strickland Award presented by TaylorMade-adidas Golf. The Strickland Award is presented to the NCAA Division I, II, III, NAIA or NJCAA assistant coach that has excelled in working with their student-athletes both on the course and in the class room. The award is sponsored by the Golf Coaches Association of America.

Malloy is in his fourth season as an assistant coach at Florida State and has the unique experience of working with both the nationally ranked Seminole men’s and women’s golf programs this season. Florida State’s men are currently ranked No. 12 nationally by GolfStat and have won three tournaments this year and the Seminole women are ranked 22nd nationally by GolfWeek Magazine and have also won three tournaments this year.

Malloy will accompany the women’s team as they play in the NCAA Central Regional championship May 6-8 at the Otter Creek Golf Club in Columbus, Ind. He will then accompany the men’s to the NCAA regional championship May 20-22. The selections for the men’s NCAA Tournament will be announced on May 10.

“To be named as a semifinalist for the Jan Strickland Award is a great accomplishment for Chris,” said Florida State head coach Trey Jones. “He has worked really hard throughout his career as a coach and for him to earn this recognition from his peers is fantastic. His work with our student-athletes since he has been at Florida State has helped them become better golfers and has allowed our golf programs to be considered among the best in the country.”

A total of 10 coaches were named semifinalists including Malloy, Josh Brewer of Southern California, South Carolina’s Michael Burcin, Jordan Byrd of Clemson, Washington’s Garrett Clegg, Corey Maggard of Transylvania, Marty McCauley of Texas Tech, Hastings’ Lloyd McIntyre, Shane Warren of LSU and Michigan’s Chris Whitten.

Finalists for the Strickland Award – which has been sponsored by TaylorMade-adidas Golf since its inception in 2003 – will be named on May 12 with the recipient announced June 1.

Related Articles