July 18, 2012 - by
Manuel Named to Davey O’Brien Watch List

July 18, 2012

TALLAHASSEE, Fla — Florida State redshirt senior quarterback EJ Manuel has earned a spot on another preseason watch list.

Brandon Mellor
Brandon Mellor
Seminoles.com Senior Writer
Follow me on Twitter

Nine days after being placed on the watch list for the Maxwell Award that’s given to college football’s best player, Manuel was added Wednesday morning to a group of 34 early candidates for the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award presented at season’s end to the nation’s best signal caller.

Manuel enters his final year at FSU ranked statistically as the most accurate passer in program history thanks to his 66.1 career completion percentage. Dating back to last season, the Virginia Beach, Va. native hasn’t thrown an interception in 121 pass attempts and counting.

The 2012 season will mark Manuel’s second as the full-time starter and he boasts all-time record as 13-4. Manuel threw for 2,666 yards and 18 touchdowns last year after taking over for NFL first-round draft pick Christian Ponder.

Manuel has three bowl victories to his credit, with wins in the Gator, Chick-fil-A and Champs Sports bowls in back-to-back-to-back seasons.

2012 Davey O’Brien Watch List

Ryan Aplin, Arkansas State, Sun Belt

Matt Barkley, USC, Pac-12

Tajh Boyd, Clemson, ACC

Tyler Bray, Tennessee, SEC

Teddy Bridgewater, Louisville, Big East

Alex Carder, Western Michigan, MAC

Derek Carr, Fresno State, MWC

B.J. Daniels, USF, Big East

Seth Doege, Texas Tech, Big 12

Cody Fajardo, Nevada, MWC

James Franklin, Missouri, SEC

Mike Glennon, N.C. State, ACC

Landry Jones, Oklahoma, Big 12

Collin Klein, Kansas State, Big 12

EJ Manuel, Florida State, ACC

Taylor Martinez, Nebraska, Big Ten

AJ McCarron, Alabama, SEC

Braxton Miller, Ohio State, Big Ten

Aaron Murray, Georgia, SEC

Riley Nelson, BYU, Independent

Casey Pachall, TCU, Big 12

Keith Price, Washington, Pac-12

Sean Renfree, Duke, ACC

Bryn Renner, North Carolina, ACC

Denard Robinson, Michigan, Big Ten

Nathan Scheelhaase, Illinois, Big Ten

Connor Shaw, South Carolina, SEC

Geno Smith, West Virginia, Big 12

Trent Steelman, Army, Independent

Tyler Tettleton, Ohio, MAC

Logan Thomas, Virginia Tech, ACC

Jeff Tuel, Washington St, Pac-12

James Vandenberg, Iowa, Big Ten

Tyler Wilson, Arkansas, SEC

About the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award®

The Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award® is presented annually to the nation’s best college quarterback and is the oldest and most prestigious national quarterback award. The Davey O’Brien Award honors candidates who exemplify Davey O’Brien’s enduring character while exhibiting teamwork, sportsmanship and leadership in both academics and athletics. The award is overseen by the Davey O’Brien Foundation, which is headquartered in Fort Worth, Texas, and has given away more than $850,000 in scholarships and university grants to help high school and college athletes transform leadership on the field into leadership in life. For more information, visit www.DaveyOBrien.org.

Related Articles