June 3, 2010 - by
McGee: Golden Spikes Semifinalists

June 3, 2010

DURHAM, N.C. – Florida State’s Mike McGee was named one of 30 semifinalists for the 2010 USA Baseball Golden Spikes Award as announced by USA Baseball on Tuesday, June 1. This year marks the 33rd consecutive year that the award has been presented to the nation’s top amateur baseball player.

The junior from Port St. Lucie, Fla., has once again been an outstanding two-way player for the Seminoles in 2010. He has played in all 59 games thus far making 54 starts in left field, three as the designated hitter and one on the mound. McGee heads into the postseason ranked second on the team in hitting with a .335 average. He currently leads the team with 14 home runs and 64 RBI and is second in hits with 72. McGee has also tallied 12 doubles, one triple and 41 walks, while scoring 55 runs.

On the mound, McGee has stepped in nicely as the Seminole closer posting a 4-0 record with nine saves and a 0.41 ERA. The right hander has registered 22.0 innings in 15 appearances allowing just two runs, one earned, while posting 25 strikeouts. McGee has given up only seven hits and is holding opponents to a .099 average. In his first and only start of the season back on March 8 at Jacksonville, McGee no-hit the Dolphins over 6.0 innings. Eight of his nine saves have come in league play as he ranks tied for second in the ACC in that category. McGee was named to the All-ACC first team as a utility player in 2010.

This year also marks the third year in a row that GoldenSpikesAward.com – powered by MLB Advanced Media (MLBAM), the interactive media and Internet company of Major League Baseball – will be the online home for the award. The Web site features content devoted exclusively to the GSA, including news, voting history, past-winner photo galleries, and photographs and video highlights for the 2010 semifinalists. Fans can follow online at GoldenSpikesAward.com as the list of 30 players is narrowed to five finalists on Tuesday, June 8, en route to the announcement of this year’s winner on Tuesday, July 13.

The 2010 GSA will be awarded live at MLB’s All-Star FanFest in Anaheim as part of a production by Major League Baseball and MLBAM. Online footage of the event will air live exclusively at GoldenSpikesAward.com.

In 2007, USA Baseball instituted a new selection and balloting procedure for the most prestigious award in amateur baseball, and it will follow the same model again in 2009. After accepting nominations from sports information directors across the country, a committee voted to determine the 30 semifinalists. The names of the 30 semifinalists will now be forwarded to a group of nearly 200 voters which will select the five finalists and the eventual winner. Beginning today fans will also be able to vote on the 2010 GSA by visiting GoldenSpikesAward.com and selecting their favorite amateur player.

“USA Baseball is proud to recognize these 30 student-athletes and their respective baseball programs,” said Paul Seiler, USA Baseball Executive Director/CEO. “There were many individual standout performances in 2010, and we look forward to ultimately honoring the top performance at All-Star FanFest in July.”

Florida State leads all schools in the nation with four all-time Golden Spikes recipients: Mike Fuentes (1981), Mike Loynd (1986), J.D. Drew (1997) and Buster Posey (2008).

A list of the 30 semifinalists is as follows:

Name, Class, Position, School
Trevor Bauer, Sophomore, RHP, UCLA
Daniel Bibona, Senior, LHP, UC Irvine
Gary Brown, Junior, IF, Cal State Fullerton
Michael Choice, Junior, OF, Texas-Arlington
Christian Colon, Junior, IF, Cal State Fullerton
Zack Cox, Junior, IF/RHP, Arkansas
Derek Dietrich, Junior, IF, Georgia Tech
Chris Duffy, Senior, IF/OF, Central Florida
Yasmani Grandal, Junior, C, Miami (Fla.)
Cole Green, Junior, RHP/OF, Texas
Bryce Harper, Freshman, C, Southern Nevada
Paul Hoilman, Junior, RHP/IF, East Tennessee State
Danny Hultzen, Sophomore, LHP/IF, Virginia
Taylor Jungmann, Sophomore, RHP, Texas
Barret Loux, Junior, RHP/OF, Texas A&M
Zack MacPhee, Sophomore, IF, Arizona State
Mike McGee, Junior, RHP/OF, Florida State
Deck McGuire, Junior, RHP, Georgia Tech
Anthony Meo, Sophomore, RHP, Coastal Carolina
Hunter Morris, Junior, IF/OF, Auburn
Drew Pomeranz, Junior, LHP, Mississippi
Anthony Rendon, Sophomore, IF, Rice
Chance Ruffin, Junior, RHP, Texas
Chris Sale, Junior, LHP, Florida Gulf Coast
Rob Segedin, RS Sophomore, IF/RHP, Tulane
John Stilson, Sophomore, RHP/IF, Texas A&M
Kolbrin Vitek, Junior, IF/RHP, Ball State
Alex Wimmers, Junior, RHP, Ohio State
Asher Wojciechowski, Junior, RHP, The Citadel
Phil Wunderlich, Junior, IF/OF, Louisville


Related Articles