June 10, 2010 - by
McGee Named A Semifinalist For John Olerud Two-Way Player Award

June 10, 2010

Olerud Semifinalist in PDF Format

LUBBOCK, Texas – Florida State’s Mike McGee was named a semifinalist for the John Olerud Two-Way Player of the Year Award as announced by the College Baseball Foundation on Tuesday, June 8. McGee is one of 10 student-athletes still competing for the inaugural award.

The Olerud Award, which recognizes a player who makes an impact both on the mound and at the plate, will be presented in Lubbock, Texas, on July 2 as part of the College Baseball Awards Show.

“We are proud to honor the legacy that John Olerud established at Washington State as both a first baseman and a pitcher,” said Randy Norman, Olerud Award committee co-chair. “All the young men on this list have compiled impressive statistics at the plate, in the field and on the mound.”

McGee has the lowest earned run average of those student-athletes on the watch list with an ERA of 0.38 in 24.0 innings of work this year.

The junior from Port St. Lucie, Fla., has once again been an outstanding two-way player for the Seminoles in 2010. McGee has played in every game for Florida State this year making 57 starts in left field while hitting .335 with 76 hits, 14 doubles, 14 home runs and 67 RBI. He currently leads the team in home runs and RBI, while ranking second in hits.

On the mound, McGee has stepped in nicely as the Seminole closer posting a 4-0 record with 11 saves and a 0.38 ERA. The right hander has registered 24.0 innings in 17 appearances allowing just two runs, one earned, while posting 28 strikeouts. McGee has given up only eight hits and is holding opponents to a .103 average. In his first and only start of the season back on March 8 at Jacksonville, McGee no-hit the Dolphins over 6.0 innings. McGee’s 11 saves are tied for the fifth most in a single-season at Florida State.

The College Baseball Awards Show will take place on July 2 in Lubbock, Texas, as part of a nearly weeklong schedule of festivities sponsored by the College Baseball Foundation. The events also include the induction ceremony for the National College Baseball Hall of Fame.

John Olerud Two-Way Player Semifinalists:
Brett Eibner, Jr., Arkansas
Kolbrin Vitek, Jr., Ball State
Brooks Pinckard, So., Baylor
Nick Ramirez, So., Cal State Fullerton
Andy Mee, Jr., Florida Atlantic
Mike McGee, Jr., Florida State
Brock Stassi, Jr., Nevada
Nick Rogers, Sr., North Carolina A&T
Paul Snider, So., Northwestern
Joe Leonard, Jr., Pittsburgh


Related Articles