April 10, 2019 - by
Men’s Basketball Honored At Annual Banquet

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Senior Terance Mann, who was part of the winningest senior class in program history, earned a team-high four awards including the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player and Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards awards, as Seminole Head Coach Leonard Hamilton and his staff celebrated Florida State’s historic season at its annual honors banquet at the Dunlap Champions Club on the FSU campus.

The Seminoles enjoyed one of the greatest seasons in school history as they played in their third consecutive NCAA Tournament, advanced to the Sweet 16 of the NCAA Tournament for the school-record tying second consecutive season, finished the season ranked 10th nationally in the Associated Press poll, advanced to the championship game of the ACC Tournament, finished fourth in the ACC standings and defeated six nationally ranked teams.

Mann helped lead Florida State to 97 overall victories and into three NCAA Tournaments during his career. He led the Seminoles to the Elite Eight of the 2018 NCAA Tournament and to the Sweet 16 of the 2019 NCAA Tournament, marking only the second time in school history they had advanced that far in consecutive NCAA Tournament appearances. Mann finished his amazing career ranked first in school history for games played (140), eighth in school history for games started (101), 14th in rebounding (710), 15th in career field goal percentage (.552), 19th in field goals made (505) and 20th in scoring (1,322 career points).

At the 2019 Honors Banquet, Mann accepted awards for the best individual free throw percentage (.790 percent), the best individual 3-point field goal percentage (.390 percent), the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards award as the team’s top rebounder (240 rebounds / 6.5 rpg) while sharing the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award (422 points / 11.4 ppg) with teammate Mfiondu Kabengele.

Mann became a two-time winner of the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player award after winning the award during the 2018 season.

Senior Phil Cofer, who finished his career ranked eighth in school history with 133 games played and tied for 17th in career 3-point field goal percentage, was presented with the Tip of the Spear award by the coaching staff. The Tip of the Spear Award is presented annually to the member of the men’s basketball team who exemplifies Florida State’s unconquered spirit and who gives unselfishly of himself throughout his career.

Junior Trent Forrest, who led the Seminoles in assists and steals for the second consecutive season, earned three awards. He was presented with the Academic Achievement Award, the Charlie Ward Defensive Player of the Year Award (69 steals / 1.9 spg) and the Otto Petty Most Assists Award (138 assists / 3.7 apg). It marked the third consecutive season Forrest was recognized by the Seminole coaches for his academic achievements after earning the First Year Academic Award in 2017 and the Outstanding Student-Athlete Award in 2018. Forrest has been named to the All-ACC Academic Basketball team in the first three seasons of his career (2017, 2018 and 2019).

Freshman Devin Vassell, who proved to be one of the top newcomers in the ACC, also earned three awards. He accepted the First Year Academic Achievement Award and the Newcomer of the Year award while sharing the award as the Seminoles’ top 3-point shooter with Mann (26 3-point field goals made / .419 shooting mark). Vassell played in 33 of Florida State’s 37 games and averaged 10.7 minutes played per game.

David Nichols, who was named the MVP of the Seminoles’ victory over Saint Louis in the Orange Bowl Classic, was presented with two awards: The Outstanding Academic Student Athlete award and the Unsung Hero award. Nichols led the Seminoles in scoring four times, including twice in ACC regular season against Miami and North Carolina, and in the Seminoles’ victory over No. 2 Virginia in the semifinals of the ACC Tournament. The Seminoles were one of only two teams to defeat the National Champion Cavaliers during the season. After transferring to Florida State from the University of Albany prior to the 2019 season, Nichols will earn his Master’s Degree in Sport Management from Florida State University this summer.

Redshirt sophomore Mfiondu Kabengele, who led the Seminoles in scoring despite not starting a single game during the season, earned awards as Florida State’s Sixth Man while sharing the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player award with Mann. Kabengele led the Seminoles with a career-high 13.1 points per game scoring average.

Senior Christ Koumadje was presented with the Best Field Goal Percentage award for the third consecutive season (.627 field goal shooting percentage), senior PJ Savoy accepted the award as the Seminoles’ top free throw shooter (.821 percent) and redshirt freshman RaiQuan Gray took home the award as Florida State’s most improved player.

Florida State defeated Florida for the fifth consecutive season meaning the Seminoles’ senior class (Cofer, Koumadje, Mann, Nichol and Savoy) never lost to the Gators, won a program record 29 games and earned a school-record 13 ACC wins in finishing fourth in the best conference for college basketball in the country. The Seminoles defeated Virginia, who will play in in the NCAA Tournament championship game, in the semifinals of the ACC Tournament to reach the championship game of the ACC Tournament for the third time in school history.

First Year Academic Achievement Award – Devin Vassell
Academic Achievement – Trent Forrest
Outstanding Academic Student Athlete – David Nichols
Newcomer of the Year – Devin Vassell
Sixth Man – Mfiondu Kabengele
Most Improved – RaiQuan Gray
Best Field Goal Percentage – Christ Koumadje
Best Free Throw Percentage – PJ Savoy
Best Free Throw Percentage – Terance Mann
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage – Devin Vassell
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage – Terance Mann
Otto Petty Most Assists – Trent Forrest
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards – Terance Mann
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player – Trent Forrest
Bub Sura Outstanding Offensive Player – Terance Mann
Bub Sura Outstanding Offensive Player – Mfiondu Kabengele
Unsung Hero Award – David Nichols
Tip of the Spear – Phil Cofer
Green Team Vipers – Travis Light, Justin Lindner, Will Miles, Malik Osborne, Harrison Prieto
J.U.I.C.E. Award – RaiQuan Gray, Anthony Polite, MJ Walker, Wyatt Wilkes, Devin Vassell

Related Articles