April 21, 2010 - by
Men’s Golf At ACC Championship

April 21, 2010

Complete Release in PDF Format Get Acrobat Reader

The No. 11 ranked Florida State men’s golf team, which has won three tournament titles this year, travels to play in the 57th Annual Atlantic Coast Conference Championship April 23-25 at the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point in New London, N.C. in search of their third conference championship in the last three years. The Seminoles won the first ACC championship in the sport of golf at the Old North State Club in 2008. The Seminoles are one of six teams who have either won outright or shared the ACC title in the last six seasons with Georgia Tech winning outright or sharing three titles. Wake Forest has won a league leading 18 ACC men’s golf championships. Seath Lauer led the Seminoles in the individual standings with a tied for 24th place finish in 2009.

No. 11 Florida State is joined by No. 15 Clemson, No. 17 Georgia Tech, No. 21 Duke, No. 22 Virginia, Boston College, Maryland North Carolina, NC State, Virginia Tech and Wake Forest in the 57th Annual ACC Championship. It will mark the ninth consecutive year and the 14th time overall that the ACC men’s golf championship will be played at the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point. In 2009, Georgia Tech claimed its second ACC title and enters the 2010 event as the defending champion. Matt Hill of NC State and David May of Clemson shared medalist honors last season.

Florida State won the 2008 ACC Men’s Golf Championship to mark the first time the Seminoles had finished higher than third in the championship since joining the league for the 1991-92 academic year. The Seminoles finished third in the 1994 ACC Championship, fourth in the 1996 event and tied for fourth in 2007 for its three best finishes since joining the conference prior to claiming the championship last season. The Seminoles participated in their first ACC Tournament in 1992 and this season will mark their 19th ACC tournament as a member of the conference. Jonas Blixt (medalist, 208 score in 2007), Bobby Cochran (second place, 212 score in 1994), Christian Raynor (second place, 211 score in 1995) and George McNeil (second place, 212 score in 1996) have earned the top individual finishes for the Seminoles during ACC Championship play.

Florida State, led by All-America teammates Jonas Blixt and Matt Savage, won its first ever ACC championship as it defeated Duke by three strokes at the 55th Annual ACC Championship at the Old North State Club at Uwharrie Point on April 20, 2008. The Seminoles defeated the Blue Devils by four stokes in the third round as they rallied from a one stroke deficit after two rounds. The Seminoles’ overcame Duke and the weather to win the conference championship. Before they moved passed the Blue Devils in the team standings, the Seminoles waited through a 2:18 rain delay that not only stopped play but dumped a tremendous amount of rain on the course.

Florida State enters the ACC Championship as the highest ranked conference team in both the GolfStat (11th) and GolfWeek (14th) national rankings. The Seminoles are the only ACC team ranked in the top 15 in both polls. The Seminoles’ high national ranking can easily be traced to its success on the course as they lead the 11 conference teams with three tournament titles this year (GolfWeek Conference Challenge, Gary Koch Intercollegiate during the fall season and the Seminole Intercollegiate during the spring season).

2010 ACC Championships
School             Titles     Top 5
Florida State      3          6
North Carolina     2          3
Clemson            1          6
Georgia Tech       1          6
Maryland           1          3
Virginia Tech      1          3
Wake Forest        1          5
Boston College     0          3
Duke               0          6
NC State           0          4
Virginia           0          8

Florida State is the only ACC team ranked in the top 15 of both the GolfStat (11th) and GolfWeek (14th) polls entering the 2010 ACC Championship. Two Seminoles – Brooks Koepka (9th and 17th) and Seath Lauer (63rd and 98th) are both ranked among the top 100 collegiate players in the nation as play begins Friday on the Old North State Club.

Seminoles In The National Rankings
Category           GS       GW
Florida State      11       14
Brooks Koepka      17       9
Seath Lauer        98       63
* GS=Golfstat/GW=GolfWeek Magazine

Florida State, which has been ranked as high as No. 3 in the national polls this year, has finished in 10th place or higher in each of their first nine tournaments of the 2009-10 fall and spring seasons. The Seminoles have earned three titles, four top two finishes and six top five finishes. The Seminoles have finished outside of the top five in the team standings of an event only three times this year. Florida State has the second lowest team scoring average in the ACC with a 289.46 average through its nine tournaments this year.

Name              Tourn.   Rds    Par   -75   Low   Stks.    Avg.
Brooks Koepka     8        22     12    19    65    1,576    71.64
Seath Lauer       9        26     9     22    66    1,879    72.23
Doug Letson       5        14     7     11    70    1,021    72.93
Kyle Cobb         1        3      2     2     69    219      73.00
Drew Kittleson    8        23     8     18    68    1,686    73.30
Wesley Graham     8        23     7     15    68    1,694    73.65
Doug Letson       7        20     7     12    70    1,492    74.60
Michael Hebert    7        20     6     11    67    1,493    74.65
Cameron Knight    2        6      2     2     70    456      76.00

Related Articles