December 21, 2016 - by
Men’s Tennis Coach Dwayne Hultquist Receives Contract Extension

Tallahassee, Fla. —  Florida State University Vice President and Director of Athletics Stan Wilcox released Wednesday a contract extension for head men’s tennis coach Dwayne Hultquist that will take him through the 2019 season.

Florida State men’s program has emerged as one of the top programs in the Atlantic Coast Conference and the country during Hultquist’s 17 seasons at the helm.  He has coached three ACC Players of the Year, six All-Americans, the ITA National Most Improved Player and two national ITA Arthur Ashe Leadership and Sportsmanship Award winners.  In addition, he has led Florida State to 14 consecutive NCAA Tournaments.

“Dwayne has done an outstanding job throughout his career at FSU,” said Wilcox.  “He is the winningest coach in Florida State history and we believe the best is still to come for Seminole tennis.  I am pleased he will continue to provide great leadership for the foreseeable future.”

The Seminoles reached new heights last season with 18 regular season wins and a third-place finish in the ACC.  Among the highlights were the program’s first win over a No. 1 ranked team in school history with a 4-3 triumph over North Carolina.  Florida State senior Benjamin Lock was named the ITA’s Most Improved Player after rising to No. 9 in the singles rankings on the season. Lock teamed with senior Marco Nunez to reach the NCAA Tournament doubles for a second consecutive season.  Lock became the third singles All-American in FSU history last year and all have come under Hultquist’s watch. Both Lock and Nunez were named All-ACC.

“It is hard to believe that with this extension I will have had the privilege of coaching at Florida State for over 20 years,” said Hultquist.  “Coming off last year’s success, I’m excited for the opportunity to grow the program to an even higher level in the future.”

Additionally, the men’s tennis team is among the campus leaders in academics, winning the Golden Torch team award for highest overall GPA in 2015 – the 11thtime in program history. Seniors Marco Nunez and Michael Rinaldi were named ACC Postgraduate Scholarship winners after the 2016 season, the third and fourth players in the past four seasons to be so honored.

Related Articles