April 28, 2011 - by
Mirzadeh Named To All-ACC Team

April 28, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – Senior Vahid Mirzadeh was named to the 2011 All-ACC Men’s Tennis team today as announced by Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford. It is the second straight year Mirzadeh was named to the team.

“It’s a nice honor being selected to represent the ACC and be regarded with many of the great players that were voted to this season’s All-ACC team,” said Mirzadeh. “It’s a very great award to have been selected for the second time in my career at Florida State.”

This season the Wellington, Fla., native has a 21-10 record in singles including a 9-3 ACC record on court one. He is currently No. 25 in the nation in the ITA poll. His doubles play has been just as good as he and sophomore Connor Smith (Tampa, Fla.) have posted a 19-8 record this season and a 8-4 ACC record. The duo is currently ranked No. 14 in the nation.

Earlier in the season Mirzadeh upset the No. 4 player in the nation, Alexandre Lacriox of Florida, 7-5, 2-6, 6-4. In doubles play, he and Smith upset the No. 7 doubles team of Duke’s Reid Carleton and Henrique Cunha 9-8 (5). During his career, Mirzadeh has a 29-10 singles record in the ACC.

Mirzadeh has been captain of the team the past two seasons. Although he only played for three seasons, he was named to the All-ACC team in 2010 and 2011, the All-ACC Academic Team in 2009 and 2010 and the 2009 and 2010 ACC Honor Roll.

2011 All-Atlantic Coast Conference Men’s Tennis Team

Akash Muppidi, Junior, Boston College*
Reid Carleton, Senior, Duke**
Hernrique Cunha, Sophomore, Duke*
Vahid Mirzadeh, Senior, Florida State*
Guillermo Gomez, Senior, Georgia Tech***
Kevin King, Junior, Georgia Tech*
Juan Spir, Sophomore, Georgia Tech
Brennan Boyajian, Junior, North Carolina
Stefan Hardy, Senior, North Carolina
Jose Hernandez, Sophomore, North Carolina*
Jaime Pulgar, Junior, NC State*
Drew Courtney, Junior, Virginia*
Alex Domijan, Freshman, Virginia
Jarmere Jenkins, Sophomore, Virginia*
Michael Shabaz, Senior, Virginia**
Sanam Singh, Senior Virginia***
Luka Somen, Junior, Virginia Tech*
Jonathan Wolff, Senior, Wake Forest

ACC Player of the Year – Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech

ACC Freshman of the Year – Alex Domijan, Virginia

ACC Coach of the Year – Brian Boland, Virginia

* – Repeat All-ACC Selection
** – Three-time honoree
*** – Four-time honoree


Related Articles