June 23, 2011 - by
Mirzadeh, Smith Named To All-ACC Academic Team

June 23, 2011

GREENSBORO, N.C. – The 2011 men’s tennis All-ACC Academic Team was announced today by Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John D. Swofford. Florida State had two student-athletes on the team, senior Vahid Mirzadeh and sophomore Connor Smith.

The team features four student-athletes who also earned All-America honors this season with Mirzadeh and Smith being two of them. Florida State is also one of six schools to have multiple athletes named to the team.

Mirzadeh, a native of Wellington, Fla., closed out a successful three-year career at Florida State highlighted by earning All-American doubles honors this year. Mirzadeh has been named to the All-ACC Academic Team all three times in his career. He was also awarded by the ITA by winning the national ITA Arthur Ashe Leaderships and Sportsmanship Award. Mirzadeh has been named to the Dean’s List three times during his career including posting a 3.94 gpa this spring semester.

“I’m extremely excited to make the All-ACC Academic team,” said Mirzadeh. “I think anytime you can win an award for your academics it’s truly a great honor to have. I’ve put in a lot of hard work not only on the tennis court but also off the court in my academics. I think it’s really important to balance school and tennis. I’d like to thank FSU Academic Support for all their help.”

Smith was named to the All-ACC Academic Team for the first time in his career. The Tampa native was awarded All-American doubles honors this season. He and Mirzadeh teamed up to post a 21-10 record in doubles play. He finished the year No. 14 in the nation in doubles and No. 4 in the Southeast Region.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.0 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.0 cumulative average during his academic career.

2011 All-ACC Academic Men’s Tennis Team
Name, School Year Major

***Akash Muppidi, Boston College Jr. Finance
Yannick Maden, Clemson So. Pre-Business
**Luke Marchese, Duke Jr. History
Chris Mengel, Duke Fr. Undeclared
***Jared Pinksy, Duke Sr. Sociology
Fred Saba, Duke Fr. Undeclared
***Vahid Mirzadeh, Florida State Sr. Hospitality
Connor Smith, Florida State So. Sport Management
****Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech Sr. Industrial Engineering
***Kevin King, Georgia Tech Jr. Mechanical Engineering
Dean O’Brien, Georgia Tech Sr. Management
Maros Horny, Maryland Jr. Family Science
Jesse Kiuru, Maryland So. Letters & Sciences
***Christian Blocker, Miami Sr. Accounting
William Parker, North Carolina So. Economics
Jaime Pulgar, NC State Jr. Business Administration
Ivan Sanchez, NC State Fr. Industrial Engineering
Pedro Graber, Virginia Tech Sr. Industrial & Systems Engineering
Lucas Oliviera, Virginia Tech So. Business
***Luka Somen, Virginia Tech Jr. Finance
**Iain Atkinson, Wake Forest Sr. Business & Enterprise Management

ACC Men’s Tennis 2011 Scholar-Athlete of the Year: Guillermo Gomez, Georgia Tech

**Repeat All-ACC Academic Team Selection
***Three-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection
****Four-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection


Related Articles