December 1, 2008 - by
Myron Rolle Named One Of Four Finalists For The Lott Trophy

Dec. 1, 2008

        NEWPORT BEACH, CA. – Florida State’s Myron Rolle has added another award to his impressive resume as he was named one of the four finalists for the fifth annual Lott Trophy, it was announced today.

Rolle (6-2, 215, Junior, Galloway, NJ) was recently named a recipient of a Rhodes Scholarship.  At Oxford Rolle will enroll in a masters program in medical anthropology, which examines the sociocultural aspects of medicine.

“Myron is a dedicated and focused leader who is an excellent student, a superior athlete and a compassionate human being,” said Jamie Purcell, the Director of Florida State’s Office of National Fellowship. 

            For the season, Rolle is second on the Seminoles in tackles with 52.  He also has five passes defended and five passes broken up. 

The winner will be announced at a black-tie banquet at The Pacific Club in Newport Beach, Ca. Dec. 14. 

Named after Hall of Famer Ronnie Lott, The Lott Trophy is awarded to college football’s Defensive IMPACT Player of the Year.  Now in its fifth year, The Lott Trophy is the first and only college football award to equally recognize athletic performance and the personal character attributes of the player.

Sponsored by The Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation, the Lott award is given to a player who exhibits the same characteristics Lott embodied during his distinguished career: Integrity, Maturity, Performance, Academics, Community and Tenacity.

Voters for the award include selected members of the national media, previous finalists, the Board of Directors of the Pacific Club IMPACT Foundation and Legends Coaches, a distinguished group of former head college coaches.

The other finalists are Aaron Curry of Wake Forest, James Laurinaitis of Ohio State and Brian Orakpo of Texas. 

Each finalist receives $5,000 for his school’s general scholarship fund and the university of the winner receives $25,000.

This year’s banquet is sold out.  The keynote speaker will be long-time college football announcer Keith Jackson. 





Related Articles