June 29, 2012 - by
National Coach of the Year

June 29, 2012

DURHAM, N.C.—Long-time Florida State coach Mike Martin is Baseball America’s College Coach of the Year for the first time in his illustrious career.

Martin led the Seminoles to the 50-win plateau for the 24th time in his 33 years at the helm, and guided them to Omaha for the 15th time. This was one of his finest coaching jobs.

Pitching question marks caused the Seminoles to enter the season with modest expectations, ranked No. 20 in BA’s preseason Top 25. By April, they ascended to the top of the rankings and stayed there for seven weeks, en route to a runaway Atlantic Coast Conference title. They swept through regionals and super regionals to reach Omaha, where they won two games to finish as one of the final four teams standing.

Martin has been associated with Florida State baseball for 40 of its 65 seasons as a player, assistant coach and head coach. He has been involved with 1,990 of the program’s 2,603 victories, including the last 1,723 as head coach. He ranks third all-time in wins, and his .744 winning percentage is second among active coaches, behind only North Carolina’s Mike Fox.

Martin is just the second ACC coach to win BA’s Coach of the Year award, joining Fox, who won it in 2008.



1981—Ron Fraser, Miami

1982—Gene Stephenson, Wichita State

1983—Barry Shollenberger, Alabama

1984—Augie Garrido, Cal State Fullerton

1985—Ron Polk, Mississippi State

1986—Skip Bertman, Louisiana State

            Dave Snow, Loyola Marymount

1987—Mark Marquess, Stanford

1988—Jim Brock, Arizona State

1989—Dave Snow, Long Beach State

1990—Steve Webber, Georgia

1991—Jim Hendry, Creighton

1992—Andy Lopez, Pepperdine

1993—Gene Stephenson, Wichita State

1994—Jim Morris, Miami

1995—Rod Delmonico, Tennessee

1996—Skip Bertman, Louisiana State

1997—Jim Wells, Alabama

1998—Pat Murphy, Arizona State

1999—Wayne Graham, Rice

2000—Ray Tanner, South Carolina

2001—Dave Van Horn, Nebraska

2002—Augie Garrido, Texas

2003—George Horton, Cal State Fullerton

2004—David Perno, Georgia

2005—Rick Jones, Tulane

2006—Pat Casey, Oregon State

2007—Dave Serrano, UC Irvine

2008—Mike Fox, North Carolina

2009—Paul Mainieri, Louisiana State

2010—Ray Tanner, South Carolina

2011—Kevin O’Sullivan, Florida

Related Articles