January 12, 2001 - by
Nationally Ranked Lady Longhorns Defeat Lady Seminoles

Jan. 12, 2001

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State women’s swimming and diving program faced off against the #8 Texas Longhorns Friday afternoon at the Bobby E. Leach Center. The Lady Longhorns (3-0) defeated the Lady Seminoles (7-3), 182-115 in a hard fought meet for the Seminoles.

FSU took first place in three events with victories in the 200 Butterfly, 200 Breaststroke, and the 3-meter diving. Candice Nethercott won the 200 Butterfly with a personal best time of 2:04.41 and Keryn Krynauw continued her dominance in the 200 Breaststroke winning her event in a time of 2:19.99. The 50 and 100 Freestyle events featured two of the fastest swimmers in the nation with the Seminoles’ Christy Cech and the Longhorns’ Colleen Lanne. Lanne took the 50 Freestyle in a time of 23.00, with Cech (23.49) and FSU’s Kristen Adams (24.39) finishing second and third, respectively. In the 100 Freestyle, Lanne showed why she is number one in the nation, finishing first in a time of 49.62. The Lady Seminoles placed second in the event with Cech (51.49), third with Adams (52.46), and fourth with Christine Williams (53.43).

In diving, Chelsie Lerew won the 3-meter diving with a score of 253.43. She also finished second in the 1-meter diving competition (263.85). In other results, the Noles finished second and third in the 100 Breaststroke. Keryn Krynauw finished in second at 105.75 and Kristan Keelan finished third with a new personal best time of 108.61. Also, Margaret Colley finished second in the 100 Backstroke with a time of 58.77.

In relay action, Florida State took second in both the 200 Medley Relay and 200 Freestyle Relay. The Medley Relay composed of Amber Goodwin, Krynauw, Nethercott, and Cech finished in a time of 1:46.21 and the Freestyle Relay of Cech, Adams, Summer Bell and Goodwin with a time of 1:35.21.

The Florida State men and women will travel to Alabama next weekend to take on the University of Alabama on January 19th and Auburn University on January 20th.

Related Articles