November 18, 2013 - by
Nick O’Leary Named Mackey Award Semifinalist

Nov. 18, 2013

Courtesy of the John Mackey Award:

New York, N.Y. (November 18, 2013) – The Friends of John Mackey has announced eight semi-finalists for the 2013 John Mackey Award. Listed alphabetically, they are Jace Amaro (JR, Texas Tech), Ted Bolser (SR, Indiana), Eric Ebron (JR, North Carolina), Devin Funchess (SO, Michigan), Gator Hoskins (SR, Marshall), Troy Niklas (JR, Notre Dame), Nick O’Leary (JR, Florida State) and Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington).

The eight semi-finalists were determined by confidential balloting of the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Given annually to the most outstanding collegiate tight end, the 2013 John Mackey Award recipient will be announced on December 11, 2013 and presented live on December 12, 2013 at The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show: 6:00 p.m. ET on ESPNU. Other key dates include the announcement of the 2013 Mackey Finalists on November 25, 2013. All future announcements can be found at and on our official twitter account: @JohnMackeyAward.

NFL Hall of Fame member John Mackey is considered to be the best to have played the tight end position.  A tight end by whom all others are measured, Mackey was a role model on and off the field as demonstrated by his Super Bowl Championship, his commitment to community and his place in history as the first President of the NFLPA. 

The John Mackey Award presented since 2000, lists twelve alumni to have played in the NFL: two-time Super Bowl Champion Daniel Graham (’01), 2006 Super Bowl Champion Dallas Clark (’02) of the Baltimore Ravens, Kellen Winslow II (’03) of the New York Jets, two-time Super Bowl Champion Heath Miller (’04) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Marcedes Lewis (’05) of the Jacksonville Jaguars, 2008 Super Bowl Champion Matt Spaeth (’06) of the Pittsburgh Steelers, Fred Davis (’07) of the Washington Redskins, Chase Coffman (’08) of the Atlanta Falcons, Aaron Hernandez (’09), D.J. Williams (’10),  Dwayne Allen (’11) of the Indianapolis Colts and the 2012 John Mackey Award recipient Tyler Eifert of the Cincinnati Bengals.   

The John Mackey Award is a member of the National College Football Awards Association (NCFAA) which encompasses the most prestigious awards in college football. The 21 awards boast 678 years of tradition-selection excellence. Visit to learn more about our story.

The Friends of John Mackey is responsible for the administration of the John Mackey Award and the John Mackey Award Selection Committee. Please visit for all John Mackey Award related information. 

2013 John Mackey Award Semi-Finalists

(in alphabetical order)

 Jace Amaro (JR, Texas Tech)

Ted Bolser (SR, Indiana)

Eric Ebron (JR, North Carolina)

Devin Funchess (SO, Michigan)

Gator Hoskins (SR, Marshall)

Troy Niklas (JR, Notre Dame)

Nick O’Leary (JR, Florida State)

Austin Seferian-Jenkins (JR, Washington)


All-Time John Mackey Award Recipients

2000 – Tim Stratton, Purdue

2001 – Dan Graham, Colorado

2002 – Dallas Clark, Iowa

2003 – Kellen Winslow II, Miami (FL)

2004 – Heath Miller, Virginia

2005 – Marcedes Lewis, UCLA

2006 – Matt Spaeth, Minnesota

2007 – Fred Davis, USC

2008 – Chase Coffman, Missouri

2009 – Aaron Hernandez, Florida

2010 – D.J. Williams, Arkansas

2011 – Dwayne Allen, Clemson

2012 – Tyler Eifert, Notre Dame

Related Articles