January 31, 2018 - by

No. 10/11 Noles Begin Tough Road Slate at Pack


TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Another ACC road challenge awaits No. 10/11 Florida State (18-3, 6-2) on Thursday night as it travels to Raleigh, N.C., to battle the NC State Wolfpack (17-5, 6-3) at 7 p.m. on the ACC Network Extra.

Thursday’s game is available to stream on the WatchESPN app, and can also be heard on the radio at 106.1 FM or at Seminoles.com.

NC State is currently tied with Notre Dame for the longest active win streak in the conference at five consecutive games.

The Seminoles have won their last five ACC games played in the state of North Carolina. They include wins at Wake Forest (1/28/16), Duke (2/11/16), NC State (2/25/16) at Broughton High School, North Carolina (1/5/17) and Wake Forest once again (1/18/18).

Since the 2014-15 season, Florida State has gone 12-2 against the ACC’s four North Carolina schools. This includes wins this season over UNC at home (103-65) and at Wake Forest (81-79, OT).

A trio of Seminoles have been honored this week for being Top 10 award candidates at their respective positions: Redshirt senior point guard AJ Alix is a Top 10 candidate for the Nancy Lieberman Award, redshirt senior shooting guard Imani Wright was honored as a Top 10 candidate for the Ann Meyers Drysdale Award and senior small forward Shakayla Thomas for the Cheryl Miller Award.

Following Thursday’s game, FSU travels to Pittsburgh in what is now an ACC Regional Sports Network contest on Sunday at 1 p.m.

• Imani Wright is aiming for the FSU record books when it comes to 3-point marksmanship. She is currently first in the ACC and 10th in the country with 74 3-point field goals made. Wright is five away from setting an FSU single-season record, which is currently held by Courtney Ward at 78 from the 2010-11 season.
• Thursday’s game promises to be a battle on the boards: Florida State owns the ACC’s strongest rebound margin per game at +12.6, but NC State is right behind at +11.8 per game. The Wolfpack lead the league with 29.0 defensive rebounds per game, while FSU is second at 28.5.
• FSU head coach Sue Semrau and NC State head coach Wes Moore are 2-2 against each other since Moore began as the Wolfpack’s head coach in the 2013-14 season. In that time span, NC State has out-scored FSU 254-246, with the Pack averaging 63.5 points to FSU’s 61.5 points.

Florida State’s Shakayla Thomas becomes the third Seminole this week to be named a Top 10 candidate by the Naismith Memorial Basketball Hall of Fame and the Women’s Basketball Coaches Association. Thomas has been chosen among the best as a candidate for the Cheryl Miller Award given to the nation’s top small forward.

“When it comes to small forwards, no one has done it better than Cheryl Miller, and the young women recognized on this list should be honored to be associated with one of the game’s all-time greats,” said John L. Doleva, President and CEO of the Basketball Hall of Fame. “Cheryl’s expertise as a dominant player, winning coach and professional analyst will be highly valuable as we evaluate the ten candidates remaining.”

The Selection Committee for the Cheryl Miller Award is composed of top women’s college basketball personnel including media members, head coaches, sports information directors and Hall of Famers. In March, five finalists will be presented to Ms. Miller and the Hall of Fame’s selection committee. Fans will also have the opportunity to vote for their favorite finalists to determine the Naismith Starting 5 at www.hoophallawards.com.

The winner of the 2018 Cheryl Miller Small Forward Award will be announced during ESPN2’s telecast of the national semifinal games in the 2018 NCAA Women’s Final Four in Columbus, Ohio on Friday, March 30. Additional awards being presented include the Nancy Lieberman Point Guard Award, the Ann Meyers Drysdale Shooting Guard Award, the Katrina McClain Power Forward Award, and the Lisa Leslie Center Award, as well as the Wade Trophy, the sport’s oldest and most prestigious national player of the year award which is presented annually by the WBCA’s community of coaches to the best player in college women’s basketball.