February 22, 2003 - by
No. 24 Lady Seminoles Complete Saturday’s Prelims, Prepare For Final Evening At The ACC Swimming & Diving Championships

Feb. 22, 2003

The No. 24 Florida State women’s swimming and diving team completed the last day of preliminary heats Saturday morning at the 2003 ACC Championships in anticipation for tonight’s finals. The Lady Seminoles are currently fourth, but are only 12 points out of second place and can close the gap between them and first-place Virginia with a strong performance in the last night of finals.

FSU will have nine individuals competing in four of tonight’s championship finals. In addition, the Lady Seminoles will race in the 400-free relay, an event in which they hold the ACC’s top time in this season.

On the three-meter springboard, the Lady Seminoles have qualified all three of their divers for the final round of competition. Leading the way is junior Chelsie Lerew who is currently in first place on the three-meter. Lerew, a two-time ACC Most Valuable Diver honoree, will be looking to earn her third-straight ACC three-meter title. Her score of 499.55 places her just ahead of sophomore teammate Tiffany Manning, who is currently second at 491.85. Fellow sophomore Courtney McClow is the eighth and final qualifier for tonight’s final round. McClow is in good position to move into the top three as her score of 433.45 puts her only 15 points out of third place.

Sophomore Lisa How qualified first in the 200-yard butterfly with an impressive NCAA B-cut time of 2:00.69. Joining How in the 200-fly championship final is junior Loren Hansen who qualified fourth with a provisional qualifying time of 2:01.46.

The Lady Seminoles will look to earn top points in the 100-freestyle with three swimmers qualifying for the championship final. Sophomore Jennie Lyes leads the way after qualifying fifth with a NCAA B-cut time of 51.04. Fellow sophomore Emily Breen is sixth with a time of 51.12, while senior Elizabeth Parkinson qualified eighth at 51.30.

Junior Emma Dutton, who won the 100-breaststroke title last night, qualified fifth in the 200-breast with a NCAA B-cut mark of 2:17.27. Looking to earn addition team points will be senior Betsy Nagy and junior Andree-Anne LeRoy in the 200-backstroke. Both will compete in the consolation final after qualifying 10th (2:02.01) and 12th (2:02.24), respectively.

The finals will begin tonight at 7 p.m.

Related Articles