May 17, 2018
No. 6 Noles Host NCAA Regional; Place Five on NFCA All-Region Teams


PDF Game Notes

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. — Opening up the NCAA postseason at home for the fifth consecutive season, No. 6 Florida State (47-10), will begin its road to the 2018 Women’s College World Series by hosting No. 18 Auburn (40-15), Kennesaw State (39-15) and Jacksonville State (33-23) in the NCAA Tallahassee Regional on May 18-20.

Auburn and Kennesaw State will begin the regional at 12:00 p.m. on Friday, while the FSU-JSU game will begin at 2:30 p.m. Both games on Friday will be broadcast on ESPN3, and every game of the regional will be broadcast on the ESPN family of networks, with specific channels determined each day.

The Seminoles are competing in their 19th consecutive regional and are hosting a regional for the fifth straight year. Since 2014, Florida State has outscored its opponents in the regional round by a combined score of 47-11. The Noles are 59-39 all-time in the NCAA Regional Round.

No. 6 Noles Host NCAA Regional; Place Five on NFCA All-Region Teams

Florida State is 4-2 all-time against Jacksonville State, but the two schools haven’t met since 2008. The Gamecocks were part of the 2017 Tallahassee Regional, but did not play the Noles during the double-elimination regional.

The Seminoles hold a 16-10-1 advantage in the all-time series against Auburn, dating back to 1997. The last time the two schools met was in the semifinals of the 2016 Women’s College World Series, with Auburn earning a 8-7 win in eight innings.

FSU has never played Kennesaw State and the Owls are making their first appearance in the NCAA Softball Championship in just their 13th year of playing Division 1 college softball.

The NCAA Tallahassee Regional is the toughest regional in the nation in terms of average RPI by the top three seeds – FSU (5), Auburn (18) and Kennesaw State (34).

The winners of Friday’s games will play at 12:00 p.m. on Saturday, while the losers will play at 2:30 p.m., with the elimination game between the two one-loss teams occurring at 5:00 p.m. Sunday’s championship game will begin at 12:00 p.m., and if the undefeated team loses, the “if necessary” game will start at 2:30 p.m.

Links for television broadcasts and live stats will be available at

Tickets for the entire Tallahassee Regional are still on sale. Prices for the full session passes are $25 for adult reserved seating and $15 for berm/standing room only, youth and seniors. Single-game tickets will be available at the stadium for $10 for adult reserved seating and $5 for berm/standing room only, youth and seniors. Tickets can be ordered either on or by calling 1-888-FSU-NOLE. The ticket office is located at Gate B on the west side of Doak Campbell Stadium and the office hours are Monday-Friday, 8:30 a.m.-5 p.m. ET.

The FSU Clear Bag policy will be in effect for all NCAA postseason events at JoAnne Graf Field. Fans are allowed items that can fit in one 12”x12” clear tote bag or a small 4.5”x6.5” clutch or purse. Items that are not allowed include camera or binocular cases, backpacks, printed pattern bags or any size tote or mesh bags.

No. 6 Noles Host NCAA Regional; Place Five on NFCA All-Region Teams

Florida State Places Five On NFCA Southeast All-Region Teams

Following a regular season that saw the Seminoles earn their sixth-straight ACC regular season title and fifth ACC Tournament Championship in a row, Florida State was recognized by the National Fastpitch Coaches Association with five members on the 2018 NFCA Southeast All-Region Teams, as announced by the Association on Thursday.

Redshirt senior Kylee Hanson and junior Carsyn Gordon were named the First Team, senior Jessie Warren and freshman Sydney Sherrill received Second Team honors, while redshirt junior Meghan King was selected to the Third Team.

Warren earns NFCA All-Region accolades for the fourth time in her career, while Hanson receives the honor for the third time. It is the second time that King has been named to the All-Region teams, while Gordon and Sherrill are making their first appearance on the list.

It is the third year in a row that Florida State has placed at least five members on the All-Region teams, with FSU tying a school record with six in 2017. The five honorees for the Seminoles in 2018 trailed only Georgia, who had seven student-athletes named to the NFCA Southeast All-Region Teams.

All five Seminoles will be eligible to earn a spot on the 2018 NFCA All-America Teams that will be announced on May 30, prior to the start of the Women’s College World Series.

Follow Florida State softball on Twitter (@FSU_Softball) and Instagram (fsusoftball), and like our Facebook page ( to keep up to date with everything about Seminole softball.

2018 NFCA All-Southeast Region Teams
First Team
P, Kelly Barnhill, Florida
P, Kylee Hanson, Florida State
P, Brittany Gray, Georgia
C, Alyssa VanDerveer, South Carolina
1B, Carsyn Gordon, Florida State
2B, Aubrey Leach, Tennessee
3B, Nicole DeWitt, Florida
SS, Alyssa DiCarlo, Georgia
SS, Meghan Gregg, Tennessee
OF, Amanda Lorenz, Florida
OF, Cortni Emanuel, Georgia
OF, Ryan Jackson, Bethune-Cookman
OF, Victoria Draper, Auburn
UT/P, Aleshia Ocasio, Florida
DP-UT/Non-P, Cayla Kessinger, Missouri

Second Team
P, Kaylee Carlson, Auburn
P, Sydney Gay, Longwood
C, Kaylynn Batten, Longwood
1B, Alysen Febrey, Georgia
2B, Sydney Sherrill, Florida State
3B, Jessie Warren, Florida State
SS, Kenzi Maguire, South Carolina
OF, Jenna Holcomb, Tennessee
OF, Jade Gandara, Charleston Southern
OF, Kiani Ramsey, North Carolina
UT/P, Cayla Drotar, South Carolina
DP-UT/Non-P, Caitlin Ferguson, Louisville
DP-UT/Non-P, Kolby Romaine, Missouri

Third Team
P, Caylan Arnold, Tennessee
P, Meghan King, Florida State
C, Janell Wheaton, Florida
1B, Karla Beasley, USC Upstate
2B, Justice Milz, Georgia
3B, Rachel McCollum, Campbell
3B, Chelsea Seggern, Tennessee
SS, Taylor Wike, North Carolina
OF, Bailey Vick, Kentucky
OF, Kendall Burton, Georgia
OF, Ciara Bryan, Georgia
UT/P, Megan Hensley, Louisville
DP-UT/Non-P, Karleigh Donovan, Longwood

Related Articles