January 12, 2022 - by

Noles Begin Spring Indoor Season at Clemson

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State track and field team will make their second of three trips to Clemson for the Clemson Invite on Friday and Saturday. Action at the Rock Norman Indoor Track and Field Complex will begin at 2:10 p.m. on Friday and 11 a.m. on Saturday. The meet will be streamed live on ACCNX, and live results can be found at https://results.adkinstrak.com/meets/11988. 

The Field 

Charleston Southern


Florida State



Kennesaw State





Previewing the Noles

The Noles are hoping to get off to a quick start to the 2022. As a team, the Noles return 18 All-ACC honorees and 11 qualifiers from last season’s NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships. The Noles competed at the Clemson Opener on Dec. 3 with four athletes winning individual events (Amari Douglas, Jacore Irving, Alonie Sutton, Ashley Seymour). The men’s 4×400 relay (D. Martin, Watkins, J. Martin, Butler) took home the title with a time of 3:09.71 which is the top time in the nation this season.

Four-time ACC champion Trey Cunningham will take the track for the first time this season on Friday in the 60m hurdles. Cunningham is currently the school record holder in the event (7.51), and he finished third at last year’s NCAA Indoor Track and Field Championships. Jacore Irving looks to build off his solid start in the triple jump on Saturday. Irving took home the title at the Clemson Opener with a mark of 15.84m. That mark is currently second in the nation.

On the women’s side, Ka’Tia Seymour and Lauren Ryan will look to pace the Noles this weekend. Both Seymour (200m) and Ryan (5000m) hold school records in their respective events. Seymour will be competing in the 200m dash on Friday while Ryan will compete in the mile on Friday and the 3000m run on Saturday.

Quick Sprints

» The Clemson Invite is the second of three trips to Clemson, S.C., for the Noles. The Noles competed at the Clemson Opener on Dec. 3 and will return to Clemson on Jan. 28-29 for the Bob Pollock Meet.

» Head Coach Bob Braman enters his 18th year as the head coach of the Florida State track and field team.

» Braman has won 14 (10 men’s, 4 women’s) outright ACC Indoor Championships. Braman’s 14 combined championships puts him second all-time in the ACC and first among active ACC coaches.

» Braman brings in three new assistant coaches in Alex Midgett (Distance), Doug Reynolds (Throws) and Leevan Sands (Jumps).

» The men finished 6th in last year’s final USTFCCCA poll while the women finished 16th.

» The women won the 2021 ACC Indoor Championship for the first time since 2018.

» The men and women swept the ACC Outdoor Championships for the first time since 2014.

» The men finished 6th and the women 16th at the 2021 NCAA Indoor Championships.

» The Noles return 18 All-ACC athletes which is the second-most in the ACC.

» The Noles return 11 qualifying athletes from last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships.

» Isaac Grimes (Long Jump) won silver at last year’s NCAA Indoor Championships while Trey Cunningham (60m Hurdles) won bronze.

» The women return seven indoor All-ACC athletes while the men return 11 All-ACC individuals.

» The Noles have a load of experience with the men’s team having 19 seniors and the women’s team having 24 seniors.

» Adriaan Wildschutt (3000m), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles) and Isaac Grimes (Long jump) are the lone returning ACC Indoor Champions.

» Isaac Grimes was named the 2021 Indoor ACC Men’s Field Athlete of the Year.

» Cunningham was named to The Bowerman Preseason Watch List prior to the indoor season. Cunningham is the first Nole to appear on The Bowerman Watch List in three straight seasons (2020-22).

» Cunningham (60m hurdles) is one of four athletes in the history of Florida State to win four consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event. Rafeeq Curry (2003-06), Kimberly Williams (2008-11) and Lacy Janson (2002-05) are the other three. Cunningham received an extra year of eligibility due to COVID-19 and can become the first FSU athlete to win five consecutive ACC indoor titles in a single event.

» There are five athletes and one relay team that hold indoor school records. Adriaan Wildschutt (5,000m, 13:30.55), Trey Cunningham (60m hurdles, 7.51), Isaac Grimes (Long Jump, 8.35m), Lauren Ryan (5000m, 15:40.40), Ka’Tia Seymour (200m, 22.82), and the Distance Medley Relay team of Alyson Churchill, Ediong Odiong, Yasmine Abbes and Maudie Skyring (10.57.24).

For updates and exclusive content, follow the Noles on Twitter (FSU_Track), Instagram (fsu_track), TikTok (fsu_track) and Facebook (Florida State Track and Field).

Related Articles