January 13, 2011 - by
`Noles Go Undefeated In Doubles At Illini Open

Jan. 13, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The No. 27 Florida State men’s tennis team started the 2011 season today at the Illini Open in Sarasota, Fla. The Seminoles went undefeated today, January 13, at the Sarasota Bath and Racquet Club. FSU, along with No. 15 Texas Tech and No. 16 Illinois will continue play tomorrow and conclude Saturday.

In today’s closest match, senior Clint Bowles (Tampa, Fla.) and freshman Blake Davis (Austin, Texas) defeated Illinois’ Bruno Abdelnour and Johnny Hamui 9-8(3). The duo was down 7-2 but fought back to get their first victory of the season.

“I was really proud of Clint (Bowles) and Blake (Davis) winning the match,” said head coach Dwayne Hultquist. “I thought it was a great comeback and they never gave up. That was a great start to the day.”

In doubles play senior Vahid Mirzadeh (Wellington, Fla.) and sophomore Connor Smith (Tampa, Fla.) defeated Texas Tech’s Vitor Manzine and Raony Carvalho in a tight 9-7 match. In another close match, sophomores Anderson Reed (Daphne, Ala.) and Andres Bucaro (Guatemala City, Guatemala) defeated Texas Tech’s Raphael Pfister and Ryan Ybarra 8-6.

“Connor (Smith) and Vahid (Mirzadeh) were down 7-5 and came back to win,” described Hultquist. “Anderson (Reed) and Andres (Bucaro) were down a break in the middle of a set so all three teams won their match being down a break in doubles.”

In singles play, the Seminole did not fare as well only winning two of eight matches. Smith defeated Rafael Garcia of Texas Tech 6-4, 6-3. Bucaro needed only two sets to beat Texas Tech’s David Gonzalez 7-5, 6-1.

“I thought Connor (Smith) played great today with a very strong effort, along with Andres (Bucaro),” continued Hultquist. “We lost a couple other ones early on but it’s a good tournament and this is what we want to do to get a lot of match play in.”

Visit seminoles.com for tomorrow’s results and the latest news on Florida State tennis.


Connor Smith/Vahid Mirzadeh (FSU) def. Vitor Manzini/Raony Carvalho (TT), 9-7
Blake Davis/Clint Bowles (FSU) def. Bruno Abdelnour/Johnny Hamui (ILL), 9-8 (3)
Anderson Reed/Andres Bucaro (FSU) def. Raphael Pfister/Ryan Ybarra (TT), 8-6


Raony Carvalho (TT) def. #42 Vahid Mirzadeh (FSU), 2-6, 6-1, 6-2
Connor Smith (FSU) def. Rafael Garcia (TT), 6-4, 6-3
Vitor Manzini (TT) def. Anderson Reed (FSU), 6-1, 6-2
Gabriel Wanderly (TT) def. Jordan Kelly-Houston (FSU), 6-4, 6-1
Andres Bucaro (FSU) def. David Gonzalez (TT), 7-5, 6-1
Connor Roth (ILL) def. Owen Long (FSU), 6-2, 6-2
#121 Abe Souza (ILL) def. #37 Clint Bowles (FSU), 6-2, 6-2
#111 Johnny Hamui (ILL) def. Blake Davis (FSU), 6-3, 6-4


Related Articles