December 4, 2011 - by
‘Noles Honored

Dec. 4, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Florida State football coach Jimbo Fisherand the rest of the FSU football program celebrated the accomplishments of the 2011 regular season Sunday night at the University Center, recognizing the most outstanding Seminoles during the annual awards banquet.

Redshirt junior quarterback EJ Manuel, junior defensive end Shawn Powellwere selected as the Most Valuable Players on special teams.

Among the many awards presented during the two-hour program, Fisher announced the permanent captains for 2011 were Powell for special teams, Bradham for the defense and Manuel for the offense.

Florida State recognized its 16 seniors by awarding each with a framed jersey. In his closing comments, Fisher commended the seniors for continuing to set the standard that the future players should aspire and commended his team for battling through adversity that they faced throughout the season.

“I really mean this. This is by far my favorite team that I’ve ever been around in my 22 years of coaching,” Fisher said. “The character that this team has shown this season has been remarkable.”

The 2011 Florida State football award winners recognized in the banquet were:
Bob Crenshaw Award: EJ Manuel
Don Powell Award (Unsung Hero): EJ Manuel, EJ Manuel
Most Valuable Player, Defense: EJ Manuel, Shawn Powell

Academic Awards
Freshmen:Devonta Freeman, Rashad Grene, Bobby Hart

Sophomores:Terrence Brooks, Lamarcus Joyner, Jeff Luc, Bjoern Werner, Chad Abram, Daniel Foose, Kenny Shaw, Clint Trickett

Juniors: Cornellius Carradine, Dustin Hopkins

Seniors:Chad Colley, Zebrie Sanders

Related Articles