April 9, 2010 - by
Noles In The WPS

April 9, 2010

By:Kimmy Diaz, FSU Sports Information Student Assistant

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – On April 1st the teams of the Women’s Professional Soccer League set their final rosters and four former Seminole standouts will be making their WPS debut this season. Becky Edwards, Sarah Wagenfuhr, India Trotter and Mami Yamaguchi will all be playing in their first season in the WPS.

Edwards, Seminole team captain in 2009, will be playing for the FC Gold Pride. Edwards was a four year starter at Florida State leading the Seminoles to four Elite Eight appearances and two trips to the College Cup, including a bid in the national championship game in 2007. She garnered All-America honors in both her junior and senior years. Edwards had a standout senior season as she helped man the midfield and tallied five goals and eight assists for 18 points overall. Edwards was also a member of the 2008 U.S. U-20 Women’s National Team that won the FIFA U-20 Women’s World Cup in fall of 2008.

A pair of Seminoles will open the 2010 WPS season as members of the St. Louis Athletica. Trotter was the first ever Seminole to earn a cap with the full U.S. Women’s National Team. During her four year career at FSU, Trotter became the first player in Seminole history to receive All-ACC honors each of her first three years. She also received All-American honors all four years at FSU.

Wagenfuhr captained the Garnet and Gold in both her junior and senior seasons. She was on the MAC Herman Trophy watch list to start the 2007 season. Wagenfuhr was a member of the U-20 Women’s National Team that competed at the 2006 Women’s World Cup.

FC Gold Pride will play at St. Louis on April 11th in the season opener for both soccer clubs.

Yamaguchi is member of the Atlanta Beat in their inaugural season in the WPS. While at FSU, Yamaguchi set single-season records for goals 24, assists 18 and points 66 as a junior in 2007. Yamaguchi was also the first ever Seminole to be awarded National Player of the Year honors as she was the recipient of the 2007 MAC Herman Trophy. The Beat will open their season on April 11th against fellow WPS expansion team the Philadelphia Independence.

Related Articles