May 22, 2017 - by
Noles Place Five on All-ACC & All-Freshman Teams

LOUISVILLE, Ky. – Tyler Holton led five Seminoles that earned All-Atlantic Coast Conference honors, the league announced Monday afternoon before the 2017 ACC Baseball Championship. In a vote of the league’s coaches, Holton was one of three starting pitchers to earn first team honors; Quincy Nieporte was named the second team designated hitter; and Dylan Busby earned third team honors at third base.

Additionally, freshmen J.C. Flowers and Drew Mendoza were named to the All-Freshman Team.

Holton, from Tallahassee, is FSU’s first starting pitcher to earn first team honors since Luke Weaver in 2014. Holton was named the league’s Pitcher of the Week five times this season, tying Mike Rogers of NC State in 2004 for the most in one season. He finished the regular season with a 2.55 earned run average and an 8-2 record, and finished second in the league with 109 strikeouts.

Holton is joined on the first team by ACC Pitcher of the Year J.B. Bukauskas of North Carolina and Brendan McKay of Louisville, the league’s Player of the Year.

Nieporte, from Atlanta, Ga., earned second team designated hitter honors after hitting .302 with 68 runs batted in. His 61 hits led the team, as did his 16 doubles. He finished behind Busby with nine home runs. Entering the ACC Tournament, Nieporte is 9-for-13 over the past three games after going 5-for-5 against Wake Forest in FSU’s home finale.

Nieporte also leads the nation with four grand slams, all of which came in the first 20 games of the season. Against Virginia Tech, Nieporte hit grand slams in each of the first two games. His 68 RBI’s this season are the most for a Seminole since Mike McGee had 73 in 2010.

Busby, from Sarasota, Fla., hit .305 with a team-high 12 home runs over 49 games. The junior played most of the season at third base while battling injuries that caused him to miss a handful of games midseason. Busby was named the National Player of the Week after hitting 8-for-18 against Clemson, Stetson and Miami April 17-22, and became the first player in FSU history to record at least three RBI in five consecutive games.

Noles Place Five on All-ACC & All-Freshman Teams

Since April 15 (the beginning of the series against No. 4 Clemson), Busby has raised his average 35 points. His .305 average ranks second on the team.

Flowers and Mendoza each earned All-Freshman honors. Flowers started in centerfield in all 54 games in which he appeared, hitting .277 with eight extra base hits (four doubles, two triples and two home runs). In the field, the Orange Park, Fla., native had just one error in 122 chances, with a pair of outfield assists.

Mendoza missed the first 26 games of the season with injuries before joining the Florida State lineup. After playing at third base against No. 8 North Carolina in his first series, Mendoza has manned first base in the 26 games since. The Minneola, Fla., native is hitting .278 in 97 at-bats on the season, with seven doubles, five home runs and 24 RBI’s. Against Jacksonville on May 21, he hit a pair of home runs and had six RBI, the first six RBI game for an FSU freshman since D.J. Stewart in 2013.

This is the third season of the All-Freshman team. Dylan Busby (2015) and Cal Raleigh (2016) previously earned the honor.

For more information on Florida State baseball, check for the latest news and scheduling information, or keep up with the team on social media through Twitter (@FSUBaseball), Facebook (/FSUBaseball), and Instagram (@NoleBaseball).

Player of the Year

Brendan McKay, Louisville

Pitcher of the Year

J.B. Bukauskas, North Carolina

Defensive Player of the Year

Devin Hairston, Louisville

Freshman of the Year

Ashton McGee, North Carolina

Coach of the Year

Dan McDonnell, Louisville

2017 All-ACC Baseball Teams

First Team

C – Ben Breazeale, Wake Forest

1B – Pavin Smith, Virginia

1B – Gavin Sheets, Wake Forest

2B – Wade Bailey, Georgia Tech

3B – Drew Ellis, Louisville

SS – Logan Warmoth, North Carolina

OF – Brian Miller, North Carolina

OF – Adam Haseley, Virginia

OF – Stuart Fairchild, Wake Forest

OF – Reed Rohlman, Clemson

DH/UT – Brendan McKay, Louisville

SP – Tyler Holton, Florida State

SP – Brendan McKay, Louisville

SP – J.B. Bukauskas, North Carolina

RP – Lincoln Henzman, Louisville

RP – Josh Hiatt, North Carolina

Second Team

C – Joey Bart, Georgia Tech

C – Colby Fitch, Louisville

1B – Sam Fragale, Virginia Tech

2B – Jake Mueller, Wake Forest

3B – Johnny Aiello, Wake Forest

SS – Joe Dunand, NC State

OF – Seth Beer, Clemson

OF – Griffin Conine, Duke

OF – Cameron Simmons, Virginia

OF – Tom Stoffel, Virginia Tech

DH/UT – Quincy Nieporte, Florida State

SP – Pat Krall, Clemson

SP – Jeb Bargfeldt, Miami

SP – Parker Dunshee, Wake Forest

SP – Connor Johnstone, Wake Forest

RP – Griffin Roberts, Wake Forest

Third Team

C – Robbie Coman, Virginia

1B – Andrew Cox, Clemson

2B – Jack Owens, Virginia Tech

3B – Dylan Busby, Florida State

3B – Trevor Craport, Georgia Tech

SS – Devin Hairston, Louisville

SS – Ernie Clement, Virginia

OF – Chase Pinder, Clemson

OF – Matt Vierling, Notre Dame

OF – Jonathan Pryor, Wake Forest

DH/UT – Brad Debo, NC State

SP – Charlie Barnes, Clemson

SP – Kade McClure, Louisville

SP – Nick Bennett, Louisville

SP – Gianluca Dalatri, North Carolina

RP – Tommy Doyle, Virginia

All-Freshman Team

SS – Logan Davidson, Clemson

OF – J.C. Flowers, Florida State

1B – Drew Mendoza, Florida State

SS – Austin Wilhite, Georgia Tech

SP – Nick Bennett, Louisville

SP – Gianluca Dalatri, North Carolina

DH/UT – Ashton McGee, North Carolina

SP – Michael Bienlien, NC State

DH/UT – Brad Debo, NC State

2B – Will Wilson, NC State

2B – Alex Amos, Pittsburgh

SP – Noah Murdock, Virginia

Related Articles