July 23, 2012 - by
Noles Tabbed To Win ACC

July 23, 2012

Greensboro, N.C. – The Seminoles have been picked to win the ACC Championship for the 16th time in 21 years in the conference. The league’s media are predicting a rematch of the inaugural ACC Dr. Pepper Championship game as Virginia Tech and FSU were tabbed to win the Coastal and Atlantic Divisions for the fourth straight year and sixth time in the last eight years. The media is picking the same outcome as well as FSU defeating Virginia Tech led all scenarios with 60 votes in the media poll.

The last time the Seminoles were picked to win the conference crown was 2011 and the last time before that was 2005. In 2005 FSU did just that winning the league’s first-ever ACC Championship game in Jacksonville, FL. For the first 14 years Florida State was in the ACC, the Seminoles were picked to win the conference title each and every one of those seasons. Twelve times during that span FSU either won or shared the conference title. The only exceptions were in 2001 and 2004.

It was almost a sweep for the Seminoles on the preseason awards front as redshirt senior quarterback EJ Manuel was tabbed third in the preseason ACC Player of the Year voting. Manuel finished behind Clemson’s Sammy Watkins and Virginia Tech’s Logan Thomas. Manuel is entering his second year as a full time starter.

Only four Seminoles have ever won ACC Player of the Year honors. Charlie Ward was named the league’s top player in 1992 and 1993, Danny Kanell in 1995, Andre Wadsworth in 1997 and Chris Weinke in 2000. Weinke and Ward won Heisman Trophies as well. Seven of the last 12 ACC Players of the Year have been signal callers.

Tickets for the 2012 Florida State football season are available now. Three-game packs including the much anticipated tilt with Clemson are going fast. To purchase Florida State football tickets, please visit Seminoles.com.

Related Articles