December 17, 2014 - by
O’Leary, Jackson and Aguayo named consensus All-Americans

Florida State seniors Nick O’Leary and Tre’ Jackson and sophomore Roberto Aguayo further cemented their places in Seminoles history by becoming the program’s 33rd, 34th and 35th consensus All-Americans on Wednesday.

Jackson and Aguayo were named First Team All-Americans by the American Football Coaches Association and the Sporting News on Wednesday, while O’Leary collected honors from the AFCA.

To be a consensus All-American, a player needs to be named as a first-team selection by at least three of the following five bodies: The Associated Press, the American Football Coaches Association, the Football Writers Association of America, the Walter Camp Football Foundation and the Sporting News. 


Jackson and Aguayo have both earned honors from the AP, AFCA, Walter Camp and Sporting News. O’Leary has grabbed honors from the AP, AFCA and Walter Camp.

The Football Writers Association of America releases its team tonight.

The designation caps off stellar 2014 campaigns for each player, all of whom played key roles in helping Florida State to a 29-game winning streak and a place in the College Football Playoff.

O’Leary, a tight end from Palm Beach Gardens, is the first ever Seminole to be named a consensus All-American at his position. He’s caught 47 passes for 614 yards and six touchdowns this season, and owns virtually every FSU record for tight ends. 

Aguayo, a third-year sophomore who won the Lou Groza Award in 2013 and was a finalist this year, is the second FSU kicker to earn the designation. He follows two-time honoree Sebastian Janikowski (1998-99).

And Jackson, a native of Jesup, Ga., is the fourth Seminole offensive guard to be named a Consensus All-American. Jamie Dukes (1985), Jason Whitaker (1999) and Rodney Hudson (2010) are the others.  

FSU Consensus All-Americans

Fred Biletnikoff, WR, 1964

Ron Sellers, WR, 1967

Ron Simmons, NG, 1979, 1980

Greg Allen, RB, 1983

Jamie Dukes, OG, 1985

Deion Sanders, CB, 1987, 1988

LeRoy Butler, CB, 1989

Marvin Jones, LB, 1991, 1992

Terrell Buckley, CB, 1991

Charlie Ward, QB, 1993

Derrick BrooksLB, 1993, 1994

Corey Sawyer, CB, 1993

Clifton Abraham, CB 1994

Clay Shiver, OC, 1995

Peter Boulware, DE, 1996

Reinard Wilson, DE, 1996

Sam Cowart, LB, 1997

Andre Wadsworth, DE, 1997

Sebastian JanikowskiK, 1998-99

Peter Warrick, WR, 1998-99

Corey Simon, NG, 1999

Jason Whitaker, OG, 1999

Tay Cody, CB, 2000

Marvin Minnis, WR, 2000

Jamal Reynolds, DE, 2000

Alex Barron, OT, 2003, 2004

Rodney Hudson, OG, 2010

Shawn Powell, P, 2011

Bjoern Werner, DE, 2012

Jameis Winston, QB, 2013

Lamarcus Joyner, CB, 2013

Bryan Stork, OC, 2013

Nick O’Leary, TE, 2014

Tre’ Jackson, OG, 2014

Roberto Aguayo, K, 2014

Related Articles