May 22, 2011 - by
Opening With The ‘Pack

May 22, 2011

DURHAM, N.C. – Complete pairings and starting times have been announced for the 2011 Atlantic Coast Conference Baseball Championship, which will be held Wednesday through Sunday (May 25-29) at Durham Bulls Athletic Park.

As the No. 1 overall seed, Coastal Division co-champion Virginia (22-8 ACC) will be placed atop Division A for the second straight year and will be joined by No. 4 North Carolina (20-10), No. 5 Miami (19-10) and No. 8 Wake Forest (15-15).

2011 Atlantic Division champion and defending ACC champion Florida State (19-11) is seeded second and will be joined in Division B by No. 3 seed and Coastal Division co-champion Georgia Tech (22-8), No. 6 Clemson (17-13) and No. 7 NC State (15-15).

Under the pool-play format, each team will play one game against each of the other three opponents in its division Wednesday through Saturday. The two teams with the best records within their respective division brackets will advance to the title game on Sunday, with the winner earning the ACC’s automatic berth into the NCAA Tournament.

The Seminoles will open tournament play in Wednesday’s 7 p.m. night-cap against NC State in a re-match of last season’s ACC Championship game.

“We figured we’d probably play a night game against a North Carolina school,” FSU coach Mike Martin said. “When you’re playing Clemson or Ga Tech, I’m pretty sure you’re not going to play a night game because it doesn’t set up well for a tournament in North Carolina.”

Wednesday’s tournament action will begin with Georgia Tech and Clemson squaring off at 11 a.m.

Florida State will get a chance to even its season record against Clemson on Thursday in the 3 p.m., after dropping two or three against the Tigers at home this past weekend. The Seminoles will complete its pool play with a Friday 3 p.m. showdown with Georgia Tech. It will be the first meeting between the Seminoles and Yellow Jackets since the 2009 ACC tournament.

“I think it’s set up for a great championship,” Martin said. “It makes me, as a baseball fan interested, there are so many good teams in this league.” Sunday’s title game between the division pool-play winners is set for 1 p.m.

In addition to six teams currently ranked among the nations’ top 20 (Virginia, Florida State, Georgia Tech, North Carolina, Clemson and Miami), the tournament will feature five teams that were among the top nine in the most recent NCAA RPI report (No. 2 Virginia, No. 3 UNC, No. 4 Florida State, No. 8 Georgia Tech and No. 9 Clemson). Miami was ranked 18th, and NC State 30th.

The city of Durham will be hosting the tournament for the seventh time. Virginia won the ACC Championship the last time it was held at Durham Bulls Athletic Park in 2009, topping Florida State by a 6-3 score in the championship game.

Fans can still purchase tickets to this week’s competition. Complete books to all 13 games are available, as well as individual game tickets. Online ticket information can be found at

All 13 games of this year’s ACC Baseball Championship will be televised for the fifth straight year via RSN, a regional network that covers the entire conference footprint. Please check for local affiliates and stations.


Wednesday, May 25-Sunday, May 29

Durham Bulls Athletic Park Durham, N.C.

POOL A: #1 Virginia (45-9, 22-8) #4 North Carolina (44-12, 20-10) #5 Miami (34-20, 19-10) #8 Wake Forest (25-28, 15-15)

POOL B: #2 Florida State (40-15, 19-11) #3 Georgia Tech (39-17, 22-8) #6 Clemson (39-17, 17-13) #7 NC State (33-23, 15-15)

Wednesday’s Games: 11 a.m. – Georgia Tech vs. Clemson 3 p.m. – Virginia vs. Wake Forest 7 p.m. – Florida State vs. NC State

Thursday’s Games: 11 a.m. – North Carolina vs. Miami 3 p.m. – Florida State vs. Clemson 7 p.m. – Georgia Tech vs. NC State

Friday’s Games: 11 a.m. – Virginia vs. Miami 3 p.m. – Florida State vs. Georgia Tech 7 p.m. – North Carolina vs. Wake Forest

Saturday’s games: 11 a.m. – Clemson vs. NC State 3 p.m. – Miami vs. Wake Forest 7 p.m. – Virginia vs. North Carolina

Sunday’s Championship 1 p.m. – Pool A winner vs. Pool B winner

Practice Times for Tuesday, May 24: 10-10:50 a.m. – Clemson 11-11:50 a.m. – NC State 12-12:50 p.m. – Georgia Tech 1-1:50 p.m. – Florida State 2-2:50 p.m. – Miami 3-3:50 p.m. – Wake Forest 4-4:50 p.m. – North Carolina 5-5:50 p.m. – Virginia

Related Articles