February 19, 2020 - by

Pak Selected to Ben Hogan Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Junior John Pak from the Florida State Men’s Golf team has been selected to the Ben Hogan Award Watch List, announced on Wednesday by the Hogan Trophy Award Foundation, the Friends of Golf (FOG) and the Golf Coaches Association of America (GCAA).

The Scotch Plains, N.J., native is one of 31 collegiate golfers on the prestigious list. The Ben Hogan Award presented by Konica Minolta Business Solutions U.S.A., Inc. (Konica Minolta) is given annually to the top men’s NCAA Division I, II or III, NAIA or NJCAA college golfer taking into account all collegiate and amateur competitions during a 12-month period from June to May.

Pak is ranked ninth among all collegiate golfers in the Golfstat rankings, coming off his sixth win at Florida State in the season-opening Mobile Sports Authority Intercollege held Feb. 11-12. Pak’s six wins are second all-time in program history and just two shy of tying the career mark set by Nolan Henke (8) from 1983-87.

The 2020 Ben Hogan Award watch list, as determined by the award’s subcommittee, includes: John Augenstein (Vanderbilt), John Axelsen (Florida), Ricky Castillo (Florida), Pierceson Coody (Texas), Quade Cummins (Oklahoma), Cooper Dossey (Baylor), Austin Eckroat (Oklahoma State), Carl Didrik Fosaas (Keiser), Noah Goodwin (SMU), Cole Hammer (Texas), Peter Kuest (BYU), Drew Mathers (Huntingdon), William Mouw (Pepperdine), Vincent Norrman (Georgia Southwestern), Andy Ogletree (Georgia Tech), Pak (Florida State), Adrien Pendaries (Duke), David Perkins (Illinois State), Trent Phillips (Georgia), Mark Power (Wake Forest), Garrett Reband (Oklahoma), Jovan Rebula (Auburn), Matthias Schmid
(Louisville), Sandy Scott (Texas Tech), Luke Schniederjans (Georgia Tech), Tyler Strafaci (Georgia Tech), Sahith Theegala (Pepperdine), Davis Thompson (Georgia), Jack Trent (UNLV), Trevor Werbylo (Arizona) and Chun An Yu (Arizona State).

Through nine stroke-play rounds in 2019-20, Pak has a 69.00 scoring average. He entered his junior year coming off arguably the greatest season in program history as a sophomore, shooting a school-record 69.56 and becoming only the third Seminole to earn first-team All-America honors by both the Golf Coaches Association of America and Golfweek.

This year’s list of 10 semifinalists, which could include individuals not on the watch list, will be unveiled on Wednesday, April 15. That group will be pared down to three finalists in May, and the finalists will attend a black-tie dinner at Colonial Country Club in Fort Worth, Texas, where the winner will be crowned.

The Ben Hogan Award Selection Committee votes during each stage of the process. It is comprised of leaders in collegiate, amateur and professional golf. The Ben Hogan Trophy was first issued in 1990 and also included academic achievement
in its original list of standards. In 2002, the Ben Hogan Award moved to Fort Worth, Texas, and revised its criteria to its current standard of honoring the outstanding amateur collegiate golfer.

Related Articles