October 19, 2000 - by
Polley And Allen Named To Butkus List

Oct. 19, 2000

ORLANDO, Fla. – The Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando, Inc. (DACO) has announced the semi-finalists for this year’s Butkus Award, which is awarded annually to the best linebacker in college football. The Butkus Award has been presented since 1985 by the DACO. For the second year in a row there was a tie for tenth place creating 11 semi-finalists instead of the usual 10. Miami’s Dan Morgan is a Butkus Award semi-finalist for the second straight year. Florida State teammates Brian Allen and Tommy Polley also made the semi-finalist cut.

The list was determined by confidential balloting of the 28-member Butkus Award Selection Committee, comprised of the nation’s foremost media members. The Selection Committee made their selections from the initial Butkus Award Watch List of 71 college linebackers, which was announced back on August 24, 2000.

On Thursday, November 9, 2000, DACO will announce the three finalists for this year’s Butkus Award at a national teleconference from the Spectators Sports Bar in the Downtown Orlando Marriott. The three Butkus Award finalists and their coaches will participate in the announcement, which will be held in the Legend’s Room around noon and sponsored by Sprint.

The 2000 Butkus Award winner will be announced at the Butkus Award Gala in

Hard Rock Live on Friday, December 8, 2000. The Butkus Award Gala will be televised nationally on Fox Sports Net. Cooper Tire is the official sponsor for the Butkus Award presented by the Downtown Athletic Club of Orlando.

The 11 semi-finalists (in alphabetical order) for the 2000 Butkus Award are:

 1. Keith Adams  	Clemson
 2. Brian Allen  	Florida State
 3. Adam Archuleta  	Arizona State
 4. Rocky Calmus  	Oklahoma
 5. Dan Morgan  	Miami (FL)
 6. Carlos Polk 	Nebraska
 7. Tommy Polley  	Florida State
 8. Matt Smith  	Oregon
 9. Ben Taylor  	Virginia Tech
 10. Robert Thomas  	UCLA
 11. Eric Westmoreland  Tennessee
Related Articles