May 21, 2018 - by
Raleigh, Parrish Lead FSU’s All-ACC Selections

DURHAM, N.C. – Junior catcher Cal Raleigh and sophomore pitcher Drew Parrish were named to the All-ACC first team, while third baseman Drew Mendoza and outfielder Jackson Lueck earned third team honors, the league announced Monday. Pitcher CJ Van Eyk was also named to the All-Freshman team.

Raleigh (2016) and Mendoza (2017) each previously earned All-Freshman team honors. It is the first recognition for Parrish, Lueck and Van Eyk.

Raleigh leads FSU with a .330 batting average and trails only Lueck with 12 home runs, a season high. In the midst of a current 11-game hitting streak, Raleigh’s average has jumped from .283 to .330. Raleigh has started 180 consecutive games for the Seminoles, with 176 of those coming behind the plate.

Raleigh is FSU’s first All-ACC first-team catcher since Buster Posey in 2007 and 2008.

Parrish, from Rockledge, Fla., led FSU with a 2.52 earned run average and had a 4-0 record. Parrish started all 14 games in the weekend rotation for the Noles, the only pitcher to do so, with 107 strikeouts against just 34 walks. He struck out at least 10 batters three times, including a career-high 13 against rival Miami in April. He allowed just four hits against the Hurricanes in a season-high 8.0 innings in FSU’s 2-0 win.

Opponents hit just .194 against Parrish.

This is the second straight year a Seminole starting pitcher earned first team honors, joining Tyler Holton in 2017.

Mendoza was the third-team third baseman, hitting .311 with 15 doubles, a triple and six home runs. He had a 16-game hitting streak in March, including a nine-game stretch with an extra-base hit, the longest streak in the country this season.

Lueck was a third-team outfielder, hitting .245 with a team-high 14 home runs. He finished with 44 RBI, trailing only Raleigh’s 48.

Van Eyk finished the regular season with a 6-0 record, starting four of his 16 appearances. The Lutz, Fla., native earned both of FSU’s wins against No. 4 NC State and threw a career-high 7.1 innings against Miami, allowing just one run in his third career start. Van Eyk finished with a 2.88 ERA and two saves, striking out 61 and walking 24. Opponents hit just .203 against the right-hander.

For more information on Florida State baseball, check for the latest news and scheduling information, or keep up with the team on social media through Twitter (@FSUBaseball), Facebook (/FSUBaseball), and Instagram (@NoleBaseball).


Player of the Year
Joey Bart, C, Georgia Tech

Pitcher of the Year
Brian Brown, NC State

Defensive Player of the Year
Joey Bart, C, Georgia Tech

Freshman of the Year
Patrick Bailey, C, NC State

Coach of the Year
Mike Fox, North Carolina

2018 All-ACC Baseball Teams

First Team

C – Cal Raleigh, Florida State

C – Joey Bart, Georgia Tech

1B – Logan Wyatt, Louisville

2B – Wade Bailey, Georgia Tech

2B – Andy Weber, Virginia

3B – Kyle Datres, North Carolina

SS – Will Wilson, NC State

OF – Seth Beer, Clemson

OF – Josh Stowers, Louisville

OF – Josh McLain, NC State

OF – Brett Kinneman, NC State

DH/UT – Tristin English, Georgia Tech

SP – Connor Thomas, Georgia Tech

SP – Drew Parrish, Florida State

SP – Brian Brown, NC State

RP – Ryley Gilliam, Clemson


Second Team

C – Patrick Bailey, NC State

1B – Michael Busch, North Carolina

2B – Nick Podkul, Notre Dame

3B – Matt Vierling, Notre Dame

3B – Liam Sabino, Pitt

SS – Logan Davidson, Clemson

OF – Griffin Conine, Duke

OF – Jimmy Herron, Duke

OF – Chase Murray, Georgia Tech

OF – Brandon Riley, North Carolina

OF – Brock Deatherage, NC State

DH/UT – Jack Labosky, Duke

SP – Nick Bennett, Louisville

SP – Adam Wolf, Louisville

SP – Griffin Roberts, Wake Forest

RP – Ethan DeCaster, Duke


Third Team

C – Kyle Wilkie, Clemson

1B – Chris Williams, Clemson

1B – Kyle McCann, Georgia Tech

2B – Devin Mann, Louisville

3B – Drew Mendoza, Florida State

SS – Ike Freeman, North Carolina

OF – Chris Galland, Boston College

OF – Jackson Lueck, Florida State

OF – Eric Gilgenbach, Notre Dame

DH/UT – Grayson Byrd, Clemson

DH/UT – Danny Oriente, Louisville

DH/UT – Ron Washington Jr., Pitt

SP – Bobby Miller, Louisville

SP – Derek Casey, Virginia

SP – Evan McKendry, Miami

RP – Joe O’Donnell, NC State


All-Freshman Team

OF – Chris Galland, Boston College

RP – Spencer Strider, Clemson

1B – Joey Loperfido, Duke

P – CJ Van Eyk, Florida State

SP – Bobby Miller, Louisville

SS – Freddy Zamora, Miami

C – Patrick Bailey, NC State

SP – Reid Johnston, NC State

DH/UT – Ron Washington Jr., Pitt

RP – Andrew Abbott, Virginia

SS – Tanner Morris, Virginia

P – Ian Seymour, Virginia Tech

Related Articles