November 15, 2000 - by
Reynaud Named ACC Coach Of The Year

Nov. 15, 2000

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Following a 21-10 regular season record, as well as a 9-7 conference record and a fourth-place conference finish, FSU head volleyball coach Dr. Cecile Reynaud was named ACC Coach of the Year. The announcement was officially announced Wednesday, Nov. 15, along with the announcement of Jen Werrick, Jen Anderson and Norisha Campbell’s selection to the All-ACC Volleyball Team.

After ending the 1999 season with a 8-23 record, as well as a 1-15 conference record, Reynaud knew that she had her work cut out for her to turn the 2000 season around into a successful one. With all but two players returning from the 1999 squad, and a strong batch of newcomers, Reynaud and the Lady Seminoles took on the 2000 season with the determination that have earned them a fourth-place conference finish. FSU opened season with seven-straight wins, including wins over SEC foe Alabama as well as Big Ten Conference opponent, Illinois.

With a career record of 618-313, Reynaud ranks 9th nationally in career victories among active Division I coaches. Highly respected among her peers, Reynaud’s involvement in international competition was elevated to an even higher level when she was chosen to serve as the Deputy Competition Manager for the 1996 Centennial Olympic Games. Years of volleyball experience paid off as she coordinated the activities of the Athens, Ga., venue for 10 days of competition.

As a coach, Reynaud has surpassed many milestones in her 25-year tenure at Florida State. Coach Reynaud notched her 600th career victory in a match on Sept. 2, 2000, against Charleston Southern, after opening the season 3-0, placing her among an elite list of coaches in the 600-win club.

A two-time Metro Conference Coach of the Year, Reynaud earns her second ACC Coach of the Year honor this season. Reynaud earned her first Coach of the Year award in 1992 when she led FSU to a first-place regular season finish. She was also named Florida Association of Intercollegiate Athletics for Women Coach of the Year in 1991 and in 1989 she garnered AVCA South Region Coach of the Year accolades.

Related Articles