July 12, 2017 - by
Ricky Aguayo Named to Lou Groza Award Watch List

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Sophomore kicker Ricky Aguayo was named to the Lou Groza Award Watch List Wednesday morning, the Palm Beach County Sports Commission announced.

Established in 1992 by the PBCSC, the Lou Groza Award is presented annually to the nation’s top collegiate place-kicker. Aguayo’s brother, Roberto won the honor in 2013 and was also a finalist in 2014. Prior to Aguayo, Dustin Hopkins was also a finalist for consecutive seasons in 2011 and 2012.

Aguayo finished his rookie season converting 19-of-26 field goals while extending FSU’s extra point streak to 302 behind 51 extra points, which broke a 27-year old NCAA record set by Syracuse. In addition, he was 12-of-12 on field goals inside 40 yards.

The Mascotte, Fla., native was a perfect 6-of-6 in the opener against No. 11 Ole Miss, earning the Groza Award Star of the Week as well as ACC Specialist of the Week.  He also was named a Freshman All-American by ESPN and All-ACC honorable mention.

In addition to Roberto Aguayo, Sebastian Janikowski (1998 and 1999) and Graham Gano (2008) have also won the award for the Seminoles.

The Lou Groza Award will be presented during The Home Depot College Football Awards Red Carpet Show December 7 on ESPNU.

Preseason Watch Lists:

Bednarik (Defensive Player of the Year): Derwin James, Tarvarus McFadden, Derrick Nnadi, Matthew Thomas

Maxwell (Player of the Year): Deondre Francois, Derwin James

Allstate AFCA Good Works Team (Community Service): Mavin Saunders

Rimington (Center): Alec Eberle

Mackey (Tight End): Ryan Izzo

Lou Groza (Kicker): Ricky Aguayo

Related Articles