June 8, 2005 - by
Robinson Makes Final Four For Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy

June 8, 2005

Tallahassee, FLShane Robinson was the first Florida State player named national player of the year since J.D. Drew in 1997. Now he is trying to match the L.A Dodger once again. Drew is the only Seminole to ever win the Dick Howser Trophy but that may not be the case for long as Robinson was named one of four finalists for the prestigious award Wednesday. Robinson joins Nebraska’s Alex Gordon as one of only two field players on the list and he is also one of two ACC players selected joining Miami’s Cesar Carillo.

“This has been an amazing year for this team and for me personally,” said Robinson. “I am running out of ways to say how thankful I am and how much I appreciate being recognized as an individual in a sport that requires a team to help you succeed.

“The Dick Howser Trophy is obviously a very special award considering his ties to the Florida State baseball program. I want to thank the National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association, Xanthus and the St. Petersburg Area Chamber of Commerce. I feel very privileged to be named a finalist.”

The 2005 Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy winner will announced at the College World Series in Omaha on Friday, June 17 at 10 a.m. CDT, during a live television show on CSTV: College Sports Television. All four finalists and their head coaches will be on hand for the live presentation in Omaha. This marks the first time that the Xanthus-Dick Howser Trophy will be awarded during a national television broadcast. In addition to airing the live announcement on June 17 at 11 a.m. EDT/10 a.m. CDT, CSTV will re-air the broadcast on June 19 and June 25.

It really is hard to fully illustrate the type of season Robinson has put together in 2005. The USA Today/SportsWeekly first team All-American garnered numerous headlines for his FSU record 40-game hit streak but the sophomore outfielder has been producing all season long for Florida State. Robinson has already been named Collegiate Baseball’s National Player of the Year and is a semifinalist for the Brooks Wallace Award as well. He is the first player in FSU history to record 100 hits and steal 40 bases in the same season and was the first player in the nation to reach the 100-hit plateau this year.

He leads the nation in runs scored and is the only player in America over 90 in that category. Robinson is second in the nation in hits and at bats, third in steals and on base percentage and in the top five for batting average, doubles, and total bases. The sophomore is the only player in America in the top five in every one of the following categories: on base percentage, average, runs, hits, doubles and total bases.

Just like he did on the national stage, Robinson dominated the ACC as well. Coming into Super Regionals he leads the ACC in batting average by nine points and had more hits, runs, stolen bases and total bases than any player in the conference. He was first in the ACC in on base percentage and fourth in slugging despite being FSU’s lead-off hitter.

FSU has played 71 games this season and in 56% of those games (40), Robinson has recorded two or more hits. He has only been held hitless seven times in 71 games; in more than 90% of FSU’s games this season Robinson has recorded a hit. There has only been one game all season long where Robinson did not reach base in one way or another. He is now tied for third for single season hits at FSU with 121 and Robinson has scored 94 runs meaning the outfielder single-handedly has accounted for 20% of Florida State’s 478 runs.

The other three finalists for the award are TCU right handed pitcher Lance Broadway, Miami right hander Carrillo and Nebraska third baseman Gordon.

A Florida native, Howser was twice an All-America shortstop at FSU (1957-58), then coached the Seminoles in 1979 after a career as a major league player and coach. After one year in the college ranks, Howser returned to the majors to manage the New York Yankees and Kansas City Royals and won the World Series with the Royals in 1985. The baseball stadium on the Florida State campus is named for Howser.

The Howser Trophy was created in 1987, shortly after Howser’s death. Previous winners of the Howser Trophy are Mike Fiore, Miami, 1987; Robin Ventura, Oklahoma State, 1988; Scott Bryant, Texas, 1989; Alex Fernandez, Miami-Dade Community College South, 1990; Frank Rodriguez, Howard College (Texas), 1991; Brooks Kieschnick, Texas, 1992 and 1993; Jason Varitek, Georgia Tech, 1994; Todd Helton, Tennessee, 1995; Kris Benson, Clemson, 1996; J. D. Drew, Florida State, 1997; Eddy Furniss, LSU, 1998; Jason Jennings, Baylor, 1999; Mark Teixeira, Georgia Tech, 2000; Mark Prior, P, USC, 2001, Khalil Greene, SS, Clemson, 2002; Rickey Weeks, 2B, Southern U., 2003 and Jered Weaver, P, Long Beach State, 2004.

Related Articles