March 7, 2008 - by
Ryan Strauss Named To Roger Clemens Award Watch List

March 7, 2008

Roger Clemens Release in PDF Format

Houston, Texas – Senior Ryan Strauss was named to the preliminary watch list for the fifth annual Roger Clemens Award as announced by the Greater Houston Baseball Association on Wednesday, March 5. Seventy-eight of the best pitchers in collegiate baseball from 24 NCAA Division I conferences make up this year’s watch list.

Strauss is the lone returning starter from last year’s Florida State team that finished the season with a record of 49-13 en route to claiming the school’s first ACC Atlantic Division title. He registered a career-high for wins in a season as the senior right hander posted a 10-3 record in 17 appearances including 16 starts. Strauss started the season 8-0 and finished the year with a 3.40 ERA.

In his first start of 2008, Strauss worked seven shutout innings scattering just four hits against Auburn. He did not face more than four batters in any inning and retired the last five Tiger hitters including the final two on strikeouts. Dating back to last year’s NCAA Regional against Stetson, Strauss has thrown 14.0 scoreless innings as a starter registering 11 strikeouts and just one walk.

Previous winners of the Roger Clemens Award are Jered Weaver of Long Beach State (2004), Luke Hochevar of Tennessee (2005), Andrew Miller of North Carolina (2006) and David Price of Vanderbilt (2007).

The finalists for the 2008 Roger Clemens Award will be selected by a vote of a national panel including all Division I head baseball coaches, a selection of national media who cover collegiate baseball, the 16 winners of the R. E. “Bob” Smith Award, which was presented to the top player in the country in Houston in 1988-2003. In addition, the 13 previous finalists for the Clemens Award are also issued ballots. The 2008 award will be presented this summer.

The Roger Clemens Award is the only award of its kind, honoring the finest pitchers in college baseball.


Related Articles