July 7, 2010 - by
Rybakova, Sucupira Named To All-ACC Academic Team

July 7, 2010

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – Katie Rybakova and Jessica Sucupira were named to the 2010 women’s tennis All-ACC Academic Team today, as announced by Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John D. Swofford.

“I’m so proud of Jessica and Katie and their earning of All-ACC Academic Honors,” said head coach Jennifer Hyde. “We had a few girls on our squad who were also very close to earning these same honors, so it shows how our squad continues to excel not only on the court, but very much in the classroom as well. As cliché as that might sound, academics are essentially why they are here at FSU. I’m just so proud that our girls continue to achieve at such high levels in all aspects of their careers at FSU.”

Junior Rybakova is a three-time member of the All-ACC Academic Team and a three-time All-ACC award winner. The Coral Springs, Fla., native held a 10-6 singles mark on court two and a 12-13 doubles record in dual-match play. Rybakova has also been named to the ACC Academic Honor Roll twice and a two-time Golden Torch Award winner. The English Education major has been invited to the NCAA Singles Championships twice in her career.

Senior Sucupira, a native of Whitehouse, Texas, has been named to the Dean’s List five times in addition to earning a spot on the President’s List last season. The Hospitality student not only succeeded in the classroom, but she also lead the team this season with the best singles record of 27-10. Sucupira went 2-0 at the ACC Championships to help FSU earn its third-straight semifinal appearance.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

2010 Women’s Tennis All-ACC Academic Team

Name, School Year Major
***Ina Hadziselimovic, Clemson Sr. Parks, Recreation & Tourism Management
*Amanda Granson, Duke Sr. History
Ellah Nze, Duke Jr. History
Elizabeth Plotkin, Duke Sr. Political Science
***Reka Zsilinszka, Duke Jr. History
***Katie Rybakova, Florida State Jr. English Education
Jessica Sucupira, Florida State Sr. Hospitality

Lynn Blau, Georgia Tech So. Industrial Engineering
Elizabeth Kilborn, Georgia Tech Fr. Biology
Anna Bartenstein, Miami So. Marketing
***#Bianca Eichkorn, Miami Jr. International Finance/Marketing
Gabriela Mejia, Miami So. International Finance/Marketing
****Laura Vallverdu, Miami Sr. Psychology
Zoe De Bruycker, North Carolina Fr. Business Administration
Shinann Featherston, North Carolina So. Exercise & Sport Science/Political Science
*Sophie Grabinski, North Carolina Sr. Communication Studies
***Katrina Tsang, North Carolina Sr. Political Science/Philosophy
Sandhya Nagaraj, NC State So. Sport Management
Lindsey Hardenbergh, Virginia So. Spanish
*#Martha Blakely, Virginia Tech So. Biochemistry/Chemistry/Mathematics
***Sasha Kulikova, Wake Forest Sr. Mathematical Economics/Psychology
Martina Pavelec, Wake Forest Jr. Communication/Economics

2010 Women’s Tennis ACC Scholar-Athlete of the Year
Bianca Eichkorn, Miami

*Repeat All-ACC Academic Team Selection
***Three-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection
****Four-time All-ACC Academic Team Selection

# – ESPN The Magazine/CoSida Academic All-America Third Team


Related Articles