June 2, 2016 - by
Sansone Named as Third Team All-American by Louisville Slugger

TUCSON, Az. – Florida State senior third baseman John Sansone was named as a Third Team All-American by Louisville Slugger the organization announced today.

Sansone, a first time recipient of an All-American honor, was one of 11 players from the Atlantic Coast Conference named to one of the three teams. It marks the second postseason honor for Sansone in as many weeks, after garnering First Team All-ACC accolades on May 23.

The New Castle, Pa., native has appeared in 57 games for the Seminoles this season and heads into the NCAA Tournament leading the team in hits (85), RBI (62), doubles (22), total bases (127) and slugging percentage (.575). Sansone also leads the team in multi-hit games (29), finishing with 14 multi-hit games in 26 ACC contests.

“It couldn’t have happened to a better guy,” said head coach Mike Martin. “Our captain has had a fantastic year and he is very deserving of this honor. I am very happy for both he and his family because John is a very hard worker and strives to get better every day he is on the field.”

The senior co-captain ended a solid month of May where he tallied 21 hits, 14 RBI, 11 runs, seven doubles and four home runs. In 17 games, Sansone posted a .563 slugging percentage and a .386 on-base percentage.

Florida State opens the 2016 NCAA Tournament tomorrow on Mike Martin Field at Dick Howser Stadium when it hosts Alabama State at 6 p.m. in the first round of the Tallahassee Regional.

Seminole fans can always stay up-to-date with the Florida State Baseball team by following the official twitter page of the Seminoles (@FSUBaseball).

Below is a complete list of the 2016 Louisville Slugger All-American honorees:

Sansone Named as Third Team All-American by Louisville Slugger

RHP Logan Shore, Florida
LHP Eric Lauer, Kent State
LHP Drew Harrington, Louisville
LHP Joey Lucchesi, Southeast Missouri
RHP A.J. Puckett, Pepperdine
RHP Kevin Hill, South Alabama
Relief Mike Morrison, Coastal Carolina
Relief Troy Rallings, Washington

Position Players
C Nick Feight, UNC Wilmington
1B Jameson Fisher, Southeastern La.
2B Trey York, East Tennnesse State
3B Will Craig, Wake Forest
SS C.J. Chatham, Florida Atlantic
OF Kyle Lewis, Mercer
OF Alex Call, Ball State
OF Ryan Scott, Arkansas-Little Rock
UT Darick Hall, Dallas Baptist


RHP Darren McCaughan, Long Beach State
RHP Connor Jones, Virginia
RHP Colin Poche, Dallas Baptist
RHP Seth Martinez, Arizona State
RHP Nathan Bannister, Arizona
LHP Eli Kraus, Kent State
RHP Bryce Fehmel, Oregon State
LHP Tyler Wilson, Rhode Island
LHP Anthony Kay, Connecticut
RHP Andrew Beckwith, Coastal Carolina
RHP James Karinchak, Bryant
RHP Dakota Hudson, Mississippi State
LHP Luke Gillingham, Navy
RHP Adam Oller, Northwestern State
RHP Griffin Jax, Air Force
Relief Shaun Anderson, Florida
Relief Zack Burdi, Louisville

Position Players
C Chris Okey, Clemson
C Hagen Owenby, East Tenn. State
1B Robby Rinn, Bryant
1B Nathaniel Lowe, Mississippi State
1B Eric Gutierrez, Texas Tech
2B Jake Noll, Florida Gulf Coast
2B Collin Thacker, Gardner-Webb
3B Jake Burger, Missouri State
SS Kramer Robertson, Louisiana State
OF Seth Beer, Clemson
OF Connor Owings, Coastal Carolina
OF Corey Ray, Louisville
UT Sheldon Neuse, Oklahoma


RHP Clarke Schmidt, South Carolina
RHP Ryan Foster, UNC Wilmington
RHP Brady Puckett, Lipscomb
RHP Joseph Camacho, Alabama State
RHP Aaron Civale, Northeastern
RHP Thomas Hatch, Oklahoma State
RHP Colton Eastman, Cal St.-Fullerton
RHP Michael Rucker, Brigham Young
RHP Jon Duplantier, Rice
RHP Corbin Brunes, St. Mary’s
Relief Stephen Nogosek, Oregon
Relief Pat Krall, Clemson
Relief Thomas Hackimer, St. John’s

Position Players
C Brett Cumberland, California
C Deon Stafford, Jr. St. Joseph’s
C Matt Thaiss, Virginia
1B David Greer, Arizona State
1B Tanner Hill, Texas State
1B Joe Davis, Houston
2B Nick Zammarelli, Elon
2B Clayton Daniel, Jacksonville State
3B Boomer White, Texas A&M
3B Carl Stajduhar, New Mexico
3B John Sansone, Florida State
3B Nick Senzel, Tennessee
SS Andrew Jernigan, Xavier
SS Colby Woodmansee, Arizona State
OF Tyler Jones, Air Force
OF Christian Santisteban, Manhattan
OF Ronnie Dawson, Ohio State
OF Kevin Strohschein, Tennessee Tech
OF Heath Quinn, Samford
OF Weston Jackson, Presbyterian
UT Brendan McKay, Louisville

Related Articles