June 28, 2011 - by
Scholar Athlete Of The Year

June 28, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (Seminoles.com) – Florida State’s Ciaran O’Lionaird has been named the 2011 ACC Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Scholar Athlete of the Year, Atlantic Coast Conference Commissioner John Swofford announced Tuesday.


In addition to O’Lionaird, 15 other FSU student-athletes have been recognized as All-ACC Academic Track & Field Team selections.


A 2011 Capital One Academic All-America Third Team selection, O’Lionaird claimed titles in both the 1500-meter and 5000-meter runs on the final day of competition at this year’s ACC Outdoor Track & Field Championships.


The senior sport management major from County Cork, Ireland, clocked a 3:40.69 in the 1500-meter run, besting the ACC Championship mark set in 2006 by more than a second and a half to clinch his first career conference title. His time was also a season best in the league. Later in the day he registered a time of 13:52.11 in the 5000-meter run, shattering the previous ACC Championship record by more than four and a half seconds, which was set in 1983, to collect his second league title.


The Seminoles went on to win their seventh consecutive ACC Men’s Outdoor Track & Field Championship. O’Lionaird qualified for both events at the NCAA Championship.


“It’s such an honor to be named the very best student-athlete in the entire ACC for track & field,” Braman said. “Ciaran has been a tireless worker both on and off the track. I’m so proud of him and that he could win this honor for Florida State as well.”


Joining O’Lionaird as an All-ACC Academic Team selection are Mike Fout, Tremaine Grant, Andrew Jacobs, Matt Leeder and Nicholas Maedel.


With Tuesday’s announcement, Chibudu earned All-ACC Academic honors all four years at Florida State.


“With 10 honorees we once again lead the ACC in academic and athletic excellence for track and field,” Braman said. “I’m proud that our coaches and athletes put such a high emphasis on academics here at Florida State.”



On the women’s side, Michelle Jenije, Kim Williams each were named to the All-ACC Academic Team for 2011.


Like Chibudu, Williams is a four-time recipient of the honor.


“Kim Williams was the ACC’s only four-time recipient of this honor and she leads our ladies in another outstanding year,” Braman said. “Our ladies had the third-most honorees and only Duke had more honorees than our men and women combined.”

Related Articles