August 10, 2011 - by
Scholar Team of the Year

Aug. 10, 2011

By Bob Thomas,

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The Florida State men’s track & field team came within one point of capturing the NCAA Championship, but had no peers when it came to the performance in the classroom.

The U.S. Track & Field and Cross Country Coaches Association (USTFCCCA) announced today that the Seminoles have been selected as the Outdoor Track & Field Scholar Team of the Year.

Head coach Bob Braman’s squad posted a 3.04 team GPA through the 2011 spring semester.

“This is huge. As a coach of student-ahtletes, how can I be any more excited to have a team come within one point of winning a national championship, then be named the Scholar Team of the Year,” Braman said. “It’s an unbelievable end to a dream season for a program. That’s fantastic. That’s great. Our coaches and our student-athletes are committed to doing our jobs.”

Braman also recognized the support his program continues to receive from the FSU athletic administration as well as the academic support services.

Florida State is the first Atlantic Coast Conference men’s program – indoors or outdoors – to receive the distinction since the USTFCCCA began bestowing the honor in 2007.

Beyond the team honor, Seminoles Brian Chibudu, Michael Fout and Ciaran O’Lionaird were selected for individual All-Academic honors. Individuals must have compiled a 3.25 GPA and rank among the top 96 nationally in an individual event or top 48 in a relay to qualify. Both Fout and O’Lionaird qualified for the NCAA Championships in distance events. Chibudu, who battled injury during the outdoor season, competed at the NCAA Indoor Championships where the Seminoles finished fifth.

The Scholar Team of the Year caps an outstanding 2010-2011 season for the FSU men’s cross country and track programs. The Seminoles were also selected as the Men’s Cross Country Scholar Team of the Year on the heels of its NCAA runner-up finish. Florida State is the first school to win Scholar Team of the Year honors in both cross country and either indoor or outdoor track in the same season.

On June 14, the USTFCCCA bestowed its highest honor on the Seminoles, who were selected winners of the John McDonnell Program of the Year for 2010-2011. FSU was the only school in the nation to post top-five national team finishes in each of this year’s championships.

The Florida State women’s track & field team was also well-represented individually, with 10 student-athletes earning All-Academic honors. Seminoles Hannah Brooks, Callie Giffin, Lauren Giffin, Michelle Jenije, Allyn Laughlin, Lizbeth Mabry, Jessica Parry, Chelsea Whalen, Kimberly Williams and Amanda Winslow met the 3.25 GPA and top 96/48 performance standards.

The Seminole women finished the spring semester with a 3.18 GPA. The USTFCCCA will announce its women’s Scholar Team of the Year and All-Academic teams tomorrow, Aug. 11.

Related Articles