May 3, 2011 - by
Selected To 9th Consecutive Tournament

May 3, 2011

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The No. 47 Florida State men’s tennis team was selected to the 2011 Division I Tennis Championships today for the ninth consecutive year. The team will travel to Georgia Tech for the first and second rounds of the tournament and will face No. 21 Mississippi State.

The Seminoles will play Friday, May 13 at 10:00 a.m. against Mississippi State. No. 1 seed Georgia Tech will face Middle Tennessee State at 1:00 p.m. later in the day. The winners will face off against on Saturday at 3:00 p.m. for the opportunity to reach the round of 16.

“We’re excited about making the tournament and getting in the postseason,” said head coach Dwayne Hultquist. “We know we’ve got a tough go ahead of us with Mississippi State. They’ve really had a great year and climbed the ladder in the SEC and had some really great wins especially over Tennessee. I know they are going to be a very good team. I know for Georgia Tech this is the best team they’ve had since (head coach) Kenny Thorne got there. They have five seniors on his team and they played outstanding this year.”

The men’s team currently holds a 9-14 record including five ranked wins. The Seminoles finished the ACC with a 4-7 record while having senior Vahid Mirzadeh named to the All-ACC team.

The team has had Mirzadeh ranked all season long including a career high No. 21. He is currently No. 25 in the nation. He and sophomore Connor Smith (Tampa, Fla.) are ranked No. 13 by the ITA in doubles.

The selections for the Individual and Doubles NCAA Tournament will be posted later tonight.


Related Articles