September 24, 2002 - by
Seminole Baseball Places Six On ACC 50th Anniversary Team

Sept. 24, 2002

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. – The power of Florida State baseball was ever present as the conference released their list of the 50 greatest players to ever play Atlantic Coast Conference baseball Tuesday afternoon.

All six honorees, John-Ford Griffin, Marshall McDougall, J.D. Drew, Jeremy Morris, Jonathan Johnson and Paul Wilson, were named first team All-Americans at least once during their career and made at least two College World Series appearances. Griffin (1999-2001) is the most recent Seminole to make the list, posting a school and ACC record .427-career batting average. Drew, Johnson, Wilson and Griffin were all drafted in the first round with Drew being drafted in the first round in both 1997 and 1998.

Clemson led all league schools with 12 members on the Golden Anniversary team while Georgia Tech came in second with nine honorees. NC State and Wake Forest each had seven players selected, followed by Florida State (6), North Carolina (4), Duke (3), Maryland (2) and Virginia with two. The 52-member team was voted on by the nine league institutions as decided by the leagues 50th Anniversary Committee.


J.D. Drew, Florida State (1995-1997)

Drew was a consensus First Team All-American in 1997 & Golden Spikes Award winner & The Sporting News Player of the Year & Baseball America Player of the Year & only player in Division 1 history to hit 30 home runs and steal 30 bases & batted an FSU record .455 in 1997, while becoming just the third player in Division 1 college baseball history to record a triple-triple 100 hits, 100 runs and 100 RBI & drafted in the first round by the St. Louis Cardinals.

John-Ford Griffin, Florida State (1999-2001)

Golden Spikes Award finalist in 2001 & named the 2001 ACC Player of the Year & led the 2001 team with a .450 batting average & his career batting average of .427 is the best in FSU and ACC history, ranking 16th all-time in Division 1 baseball & was a consensus First Team All-American in 2001 & selected in the first round of the 2001 MLB Draft by the New York Yankees.

Jonathan Johnson, Florida State (1993-1995)

Led FSU to its first ever ACC Championship & Golden Spikes Award finalist & 1995 First Team All American & 1995 Baseball America All-American & struck out 391 batters in his career, which ranks fourth all-time on the ACC career list & compiled a 34-5 record and a 2.62 ERA in three years as a starter for the Seminoles & drafted in the first round by the Texas Rangers in 1995.

Marshall McDougall, Florida State (1999-2000)

Consensus First Team All-American in 1999&Golden Spikes Award finalist & won the ACC triple crown and ACC Player of the Year Award in 1999&had one the best offensive day in the history of college baseball when he hit an NCAA record six home runs in a single game along 16 RBI and 25 total bases (both also NCAA records) at Maryland on May 9, 1999&led the nation in hits (126) and RBI (106) as a junior & the 1999 College World Series Most Outstanding Player.

Jeremy Morris, Florida State (1994-1997)

A First Team All-American by Baseball America and The Sporting News in 1997 and earned Second Team honors from Collegiate Baseball & became the ACC s all-time RBI leader and is second in FSU history with 273 in his career & batted .356 with 25 home runs, 22 doubles and 25 stolen bases in 1997&set the NCAA single season doubles record in 1996 with 36.

Paul Wilson, Florida State (1992-1994)

All-American who made Florida State history by becoming the highest Seminole ever chosen in any professional sport draft, when he was drafted with the first overall pick in the 1994 MLB Draft & selected to the Baseball America and National Collegiate Baseball Writers Association All-Americans teams & a Golden Spikes Award finalist & compiled a 27-11 overall record with a 2.77 ERA while at FSU & the ace of the 1993 Team USA pitching staff, starting nine games.

Related Articles