May 1, 2006 - by
Seminole Women’s Golf Team To Play In NCAA East Regional Championship

May 1, 2006

The Florida State University women’s golf team will participate in the NCAA East Regional Championship May 11-13 at the Bryan Park Golf Club in Brown’s Summit, N.C. The Seminoles’ selection marks the fifth time in the last six years that Florida State has been selected to participate in the regional championships which are conducted to determine the top 24 teams in the nation who will then compete at the NCAA Championship tournament at The Ohio State University May 23-26.

A total of 24 teams and six individuals who are not members of the 21 teams selected will play for the right to advance to the NCAA Championship at Ohio State. Eight teams and two individuals from each of the East (Brown’s Summit, N.C./Wake Forest University), Central (Bryan, Tex./Texas A&M University) and West (Auburn, Washington/University of Washington) Regionals will advance to the NCAA Championship.

The Seminoles are ranked 32nd nationally in the latest GolfStat national rankings – their highest ranking of the season. The Seminoles have earned four top-five team finishes in their last four tournaments and finished fifth at the Atlantic Coast Conference Championship and earned the team championship at the Ryder/Florida Collegiate Championship Tournament in April. In five events this spring, the Seminoles have finished in first, third, fourth, fifth and 11th place in the team standings.

“It’s great for our players, our program and for Florida State University to be selected to play in the NCAA Regional Championship,” said Head Coach Debbie Dillman. “It’s a great accomplishment for our team and I’m especially happy for senior Caroline Larsson who has been the heart and soul of this team for four years. I’m happy that she will be able to close out her career in the NCAA Championship. She has been a wonderful person to coach and I’m glad that I will be able to work with her for at least one more tournament.”

The Seminoles are led by Freshman All-ACC selection Caroline Westrup (Ahus, Sweden) who averaged 73.87 strokes in five events and spring. She has not finished below fourth in the individual standings in any of the last four events and earned medalist honors at the Liz Murphey Collegiate Championship at the University of Georgia in March. Westrup is ranked 22nd nationally in the GolfStat individual rankings.

Also in the Seminoles’ lineup are senior Caroline Larsson (Danderyd, Sweden), junior Jaclyn Burch (Wildwood, Mo.) and sophomore Whitney Brummett (Eureka, Mo.). Larsson (76.07) and Burch (76.13) are averaging career-low stroke averages while Brummett and Wright have earned a combined five top-40 individual finishes this spring.

Larsson will compete with the Seminoles in her third NCAA Regional Championship after leading Florida State to the East Regional during both the springs of 2003 and 2004. She finished in tied for 11th with an even par 216 in leading the Seminoles to the NCAA Championship in 2003 and finished tied for 32nd in leading Florida State to the NCAA Championship in 2004. Larsson carded her career best score of 68 in the third round of the 2003 NCAA East Regional.

Burch will play in he second NCAA East Regional Championship as she helped the Seminoles finish fourth in the 2004 regional as she finished tied for 36th in the individual standings. Her play in the regional helped the Seminoles advance to the NCAA Championship for the second consecutive season.

Westrup, Brummett and Wright will compete in the regional championship for the first time in their careers.

The Seminoles finished eighth in the NCAA Regional and tied for 19th at the NCAA Championship in 2003. In 2004, Florida State finished fourth in the NCAA Regional and tied for 19th at the NCAA Championship.

Dillman has now led Florida State into NCAA play in 13 of the last 15 years. She has guided the team to 18 tournament championships during her coaching career and has coached three All-America and 13 All-ACC selections. Dillman was a member of Florida State’s 1981 A.I.A.W National Championship team.

EAST REGIONAL TEAMS: Arizona State, Auburn, Tennessee, Wake Forest, California, Vanderbilt, Virginia, South Carolina, LSU, Florida State, Alabama, NC State, Augusta State, Maryland, Furman, North Carolina, Mississippi State, Campbell, College of Charleston, East Carolina, Yale

Related Articles