May 3, 2007 - by
Seminoles’ Anderson And Young To Play In PGA Minority Golf Championship

May 3, 2007

Florida State University junior Ashleigh Anderson and sophomore Sara Young, two members of the Seminole women’s golf team, will play in the 21st Annual PGA Minority Collegiate Golf Championship at the PGA Golf Club in Port St. Lucie, Fla., May 11-13. A record 38 colleges and universities will be represented with more than 180 student-athletes participating in the largest field in the history of the championship.

Anderson, a junior and two-year member of the Seminoles’ golf team, has played in two events during her Seminole career. She played in the Bubba Watson Invitational during the fall of 2005 and in the Seminole Invitational during the spring of 2006 as a member of Florida State’s B team. Anderson finished in seventh place in the individual standings at the Seminole Intercollegiate and helped Florida State finish in second place in the event. She is a native of Winter Springs, Fla. and is majoring in business at Florida State.

Young, a sophomore who earned a varsity letter as a member of the Seminoles’ golf team in 2006, has played in three events during her career including the Florida State hosted Chrysler Challenge during the fall of 2005. She finished in 41st place in the Chrysler Challenge as she carded a career-best single-round score of 75 in the third round of the event. Young has also earned top-10 individual finishes while playing as a member of the Seminoles’ B team. She is a native of Jacksonville, Fla., who is majoring in communications and assists an intern in the Florida State Sports Information Office.

The three-day, 54-hole stroke-play tournament will consist of four divisions: NCAA Division I and II and NAIA men’s and women’s divisions. In addition, there is an individual invitational in which both Anderson and Young will compete for the national championship. Both the team and individual competitions will be contested on Tom Fazio’s newly renovated Ryder and Wanamaker courses at the PGA Golf Club.

The University of Texas Pan-American (defending NCAA Division I men’s champion), Fayetteville State University (defending NCAA Division II men’s champion), Johnson and Wales (defending NAIA men’s champion) and Bethune-Cookman College (defending women’s division champion) will all compete as they all look to win consecutive championships.

Related Articles