September 10, 2007 - by
Seminoles’ Blixt And Savage To Play In All-American Men’s Golf Classic

Sept. 10, 2007

Florida State University’s Jonas Blixt and Matt Savage, both All-America players on the Seminole men’s team, will compete in the 33rd Annual Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic which will be played Nov. 18-20 at the El Paso Country Club in El Paso, Texas.

The Western Refining College All-America Golf Classic is the only individual stroke play event sanctioned by the NCAA. It features the nation’s top returning All Americans from the 2006-07 season. Past champions include Tiger Woods, Davis Love III, David Duval, Jerry Pate, Notah Begay, Nicholas Thompson and this past years champion Chris Kirk. Florida State has had seven golfers participate in the illustrious history of the event including Ken Staton, Roger Winchester and Duke Donahue.

Blixt (Hammaro, Sweden), a senior majoring in Multinational Business and Operations, is an All-America candidate and considered to be one of the nation’s top golfers in 2007. Blixt earned Division I All-America Second Team honors in 2007 as he became the first All-America First or Second Team selection at Florida State since 1995. He is the first Seminole to win ACC medalist honors as the 2007 Individual ACC Champion. As a junior, Blixt earned All-ACC and All-Southeast Region All-America honors. He has earned nine career top ten finishes and has earned medalist honors three times during the first three years of his career. Blixt is one of four ACC players to win an event during 2006-2007 and is the only golfer in the nation’s top conference to earn multiple medalist honors.

Savage (Louisville, Ky.), a junior majoring in Communications, is an All-America candidate who will look to lead the Seminoles back to the NCAA Championship for the second consecutive season. Savage earned All-America Honorable Mention, All-Southeast Regional All-American and All-ACC honors in 2007. He finished tied for ninth at the 2007 NCAA Championship which ranks the highest individual finish for a Seminole since Andy Purnell in 1990. Savage won the individual championship at the Kentucky State Open in 2006.

By Sarah Hansford
Sports Information Student Intern

Related Articles