April 25, 2007 - by
Seminoles’ Blixt Named To European Palmer Cup Team

April 25, 2007

Florida State University golfer Jonas Blixt, who won individual medalist honors at the 2007 ACC Championship, has been selected to represent Europe in the 2007 Palmer Cup presented by Monster. The annual Ryder Cup-style competition between American collegiate golfers and their counterparts from Europe will be played at June 7-8 at Caves Valley Golf Club in Owings Mills, Md.

Blixt, a junior, shot a career-best seven-under par 65 in the third round of the ACC Championship on April 22 and became the first Seminole to win the individual ACC men’s golf championship at the Old North State Club in New London, N.C. Blixt finished with a career-best eight-under par tournament score of 208 to defeat Georgia Tech’s Cameron Tringale by one stroke to claim individual championship. His outstanding performance led the Seminoles to a tie for fourth place finish in the team standings – the best for Florida State since finishing in fourth in the 1996 conference championship. Georgia Tech and Virginia Tech finished tied for the team championship.

“Being named to the Palmer Cup team is a great honor,” said Blixt. “I am really looking forward to competing on the international level and bringing the experiences back to share with my teammates at Florida State. It is just another way we can improve as a team and come closer to reaching our goals of competing as one of the top teams in the college rankings.”

The Palmer Cup is an annual eight man team competition between American college golfers and European college/university golfers. The event is named after Arnold Palmer. The teams are selected on the basis of nationality, not according to the location of the players’ universities. From 1997 to 2002 the United States played Great Britain and Ireland rather than players from the entire country of Europe.

Blixt (Sweden) is joined on the European Palmer Cup team by Jorge Campillo (Indiana University/Spain), Rhys Davis (East Tennessee State/Wales), Gareth Shaw (East Tennessee State/ Ireland), Oscar Floren (Texas Tech/Sweden), Mark Haastrup (Georgia State/Denmark), Pedro Oriol (Arizona/Spain) and Gordon Yates (University of Sterling).

Palmer Cup Results (United States leads, 5-4-1)
1997    United States wins, 19-5
1998    The event is tied, 12-12
1999    United States wins, 17.5-6.5
2000    Great Britain and Ireland win, 12.5-11.5
2001    United States wins, 18-6
2002    United State wins, 15.5-8.5
2003    Europe wins, 14-10
2004    Europe wins, 14.5-9.5
2005    United States wins, 14-10
2006    Europe wins, 19.5-4.5
Related Articles