November 30, 2000 - by
Seminoles’ Chris Weinke Named Finalist For Davey O’Brien Award

Nov. 30, 2000

The Davey O’Brien Foundation announced today the three finalists for the 2000 Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award. They are, in alphabetical order, Drew Brees, Sr., Purdue, Josh Heupel, Sr., Oklahoma, and Chris Weinke, Sr., Florida State. The three finalists were selected by a preferential vote of the O’Brien Advisory Committee, a nationwide panel of sportswriters and commentators.

The O’Brien winner will be the first award announced Thursday, Dec. 7, live on the 2000 Home Depot College Football Awards Show, 9:00 PM EST, on ESPN. The show will be broadcast from the Atlantic Dance Hall on the BoardWalk at Disney in Orlando, Fla. All three quarterbacks will be honored at the 24th annual O’Brien Awards Dinner, Monday, Feb. 19, 2001, here at the Fort Worth Club. Air transportation for the awards dinner is provided by American Airlines, the official airline of the Davey O’Brien National Quarterback Award.

In addition to Brees, Heupel and Weinke, the other semifinalists on the ballot included Eric Crouch, Nebraska. Jr., Woodrow Dantzier, Clemson, Jr., Joey Harrington, Oregon, Jr., Marques Tuiasosopo, Washington, Sr., and Michael Vick, Virginia Tech, Soph.

The Davey O’Brien Award was established in 1977 to recognize the outstanding college football player in the Southwest. In 1981, the award went national in scope to recognize the top college quarterback, the position of its namesake, Davey O’Brien. O’Brien led the 1938 TCU Horned Frogs to the national championship and was the first player to win the Heisman, Walter Camp and Maxwell Awards in one season.

Members of the O’Brien Advisory Committee are Andy Bagnato, Chicago Tribune, Tony Barnhart, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Wendell Barnhouse and Jimmy Burch, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Todd Blackledge, CBS’TV, Mark Blaudschun, Boston Globe, Don Borst, CBSportsline, Lee Corso and Ron Franklin, ESPN, Tom Dienhart, The Sporting News,, Chris Dufresne, Los Angeles Times, Bob Griese and Keith Jackson, ABC-TV, Dan Jenkins, author and sportswriter, Blair Kerkhoff, Kansas City’ Star, Ivan Maisel, Sports Illustrated, Blackie Sherrod, Dallas Morning News Steve Richardson, Dallas Morning News/Football Writers of America Association, Steve Wieberg, USA Today, Gene Wojciechowski, ESPN Magazine, and Jim Brock, former executive vice president of the Cotton Bowl Athletic Association, who serves as chairman.

Related Articles