July 9, 2007 - by
Seminoles Dominate All-ACC Academic Softball Team

July 9, 2007

Tallahassee, Fla. – The Atlantic Coast Conference released the 2007 All-ACC Academic Softball Team on Friday, July 6, with all eight league schools which sponsor softball represented.

To be eligible for consideration, a student-athlete must have earned a 3.00 grade point average for the previous semester and maintained a 3.00 cumulative average during her academic career.

Florida State and Georgia Tech, each with six student-athlete selections, led the ACC this year.

First time All-ACC Academic Team members, junior Tiffany McDonald (Belfair, Wash.) and freshman Carly Wynn (Sharpsburg, Ga.), were both named NFCA Southeast All-Region honorees this season.

McDonald, a special education major, also made the All-ACC second-team after throwing a one-hit shutout against North Carolina during the first day of the ACC Tournament.

Rounding out the recipients for Florida State are freshman Robin Ahrberg (Stillwater, Okla.), senior Brittany Krbec (Orlando, Fla.), junior Brittany Osmon (San Diego, Calif.), and the only repeat selection, sophomore Melissa May (San Diego, Calif.).

2007 All-ACC Academic Softball Team

Name, School ————— Class ————- Major
*Amanda Booth, Boston College – Jr. – Environmental Geo.
*Jenna Macchi, Boston College – Sr. – General Management
*Britney Thompson, Boston College – Sr. – English
Robin Ahrberg, Florida State – Fr. – Social Science
Brittany Krbec, Florida State – Sr. – Biological Science
*Melissa May, Florida State – So. – Child Development
Tiffany McDonald, Florida State – Jr. – Special Education
Brittany Osmon, Florida State – Jr. – Math Education
Carly Wynn, Florida State – Fr. – Business

*Whitney Haller, Georgia Tech – So. – Industrial Engineering
*Kristina Hull, Georgia Tech – Sr. – Science, Technology & Culture
*Aileen Morales, Georgia Tech – Jr. – Management
*Blair Shimandle, Georgia Tech – So. – International Affairs
*Sarah Wood, Georgia Tech – Sr. – International Affairs
Jennifer Yee, Georgia Tech – Fr. – Materials and Science Engineering
Amber Jackson, Maryland – Grad. – Human Development
Lindsey Klein, Maryland – Sr. – Marketing
*Meredith Nelles, Maryland – So. – Elementary Education
*Lindsey Ubrun, Maryland – So. – Secondary Education
*Anna Evans, North Carolina – Sr. – Exercise and Sport Science and Biology
*Megan Dalthorp, NC State – Jr. – Psychology
*Shaina Ervin, NC State – Sr. – Parks, Recreation & Tourism (Sports Management)
*Heather Gelbard, NC State – Sr. – Psychology
Allison Presnell, NC State – Fr. – Biomedical Engineering
*Brooke Sorber, Virginia – Sr. – Physical Education
*Erin Ota, Virginia Tech – So. – Architecture
*Callie Rhodes, Virginia Tech – Sr. – Communications
Kelsy Rokey, Virginia Tech – So. – Biological Science
*Caroline Stolle, Virginia Tech – Jr. – Psychology
*Angela Tincher, Virginia Tech – Jr. – Finance

*Repeat All-ACC academic honorees

Related Articles