March 10, 2008 - by
Seminoles’ Douglas Earns All-ACC Third Team Men’s Basketball Honors

March 10, 2008

Junior guard Toney Douglas – who leads the ACC in steals (career-high 2.77 spg) and ranks ninth in the league in scoring (16.1 ppg) has earned All-ACC Third-Team and All-ACC Defensive team honors as announced by the Atlantic Coast Sports Media Association. It marks the second time Douglas has earned all-conference honors during his career after he was named to the All-SEC Third Team as a freshman during the 2004-05 season. Douglas’ selection to the All-ACC Third-Team marks the third consecutive season that a Florida State player has been named to the All-ACC first, second or third team. All-American Al Thornton was an All-ACC First-Team selection and the ACC Player of the Year runner-up in 2008 and an All-ACC Second-Team selection in 2007.

Douglas – the ACC’s Chief Thief – enters the 2008 ACC Tournament ranked eighth in the nation in total steals with a career-high 86 and sixth in the nation with his career-high 2.77 steals per game average. His 86 steals are only 12 from breaking the all-time school record of 97 by Sam Cassell during the 1992-93 season.

Douglas is ranked eighth in the ACC with a 15.8 points per game scoring average and has scored in double figures in each of the Seminoles last 33 games – 31 this season and the final two of the 2006-07 season. He is only 11 points from reaching the 500 point plateau for the second time in his career and is only 131 points from becoming the 41st player in Florida State history to score at least 1,000 career points.

“It’s an honor to be named to the All-ACC team,” said Douglas. “We play in such a great conference with so many great players that to be named to one of the teams is a great accomplishment for not only me but our entire team. I have never looked at an honor like this as an individual honor. Competing at the ACC level takes a team effort and that’s what we are all about – our coaching staff and all of the players on our team.”

Florida State, which won four of its last five regular season games, enters the 55th Annual Atlantic Coast Conference as the ninth seed and will face eighth-seeded Wake Forest in the first game of the tournament on Thursday, March 13, 2008 at 12 Noon in the Charlotte Bobcats Arena in Charlotte, N.C. The Seminoles won their final game of the regular season with a 75-72 overtime victory over Miami in a game played at the Donald L. Tucker Center in Tallahassee. The victory for the Seminoles concluded a regular season which saw them finish their conference schedule with a 7-9 record to mark the third consecutive season they had won at least seven conference games. It marks the first time in school history that Florida State has won at least seven ACC games in three consecutive years since joining the ACC for the 1991-92 season.

(1st Team Vote - 3 points; 2nd Team Vote - 2 points; 3rd Team Vote - 1 point)

First Team (1st Team Votes) Points Tyler Hansbrough, Jr., North Carolina* (90) 270 Tyrese Rice, Jr., Boston College (82) 261 Sean Singletary, Sr., Virginia (80) 257 DeMarcus Nelson, Sr., Duke (74) 250 Jack McClinton, Jr., Miami (37) 208 *unanimous 1st team

Second Team Points Greivis Vasquez, So., Maryland 199 James Gist, Sr., Maryland 186 Wayne Ellington, So., North Carolina 158 A.D. Vassallo, Jr., Virginia Tech 120 K.C. Rivers, Jr., Clemson 115

Third Team Points Kyle Singler, Fr., Duke 107 Cliff Hammonds, Sr., Clemson 101 Toney Douglas, Jr., Florida State 98 James Johnson, Fr., Wake Forest 69 Greg Paulus, Jr., Duke 64

Honorable Mention (20 or more points) Points Ty Lawson, So., North Carolina 59 J.J. Hickson, Fr., NC State 43 Deron Washington, Sr., Virginia Tech 28 Anthony Morrow, Sr., Georgia Tech 25

ALL-FRESHMAN (89 votes) Votes Kyle Singler, Duke* 89 James Johnson, Wake Forest* 89 J.J. Hickson, NC State* 89 Jeff Allen, Virginia Tech 82 Jeff Teague, Wake Forest 79 *unanimous

Honorable Mention (15 or more votes) Terrence Oglesby, Clemson 15

ALL-DEFENSIVE Votes DeMarcus Nelson, Sr., Duke 68 Toney Douglas, Jr., Florida State 66 Tyrelle Blair, Sr., Boston College 56 Marcus Ginyard, Jr., North Carolina 46 James Gist, Sr., Maryland 40

Honorable Mention (15 or more votes) Cliff Hammonds, Sr., Clemson 31 D'Andre Bell, Jr., Georgia Tech 27 Tyler Hansbrough, Jr., North Carolina 24 Jeff Allen, Fr., Virginia Tech 22 Deron Washington, Sr., Virginia Tech 16 James Mays, Sr., Clemson 15

Related Articles