January 30, 2006 - by
Seminoles Honored at Football Awards Dinner

Jan. 30, 2006

The 2005 Florida State football team celebrated their ACC Championship season at the end of the year dinner, held Saturday, February 28th. Senior noseguard Brodrick Bunkley was named the defensive MVP by the coaching staff while wide receivers Willie Reid and Chris Davis shared offensive MVP honors. Click here to see the complete list of award winners from Saturday.

Academic Awards

Freshmen Class – Derek Nicholson (3.464 GPA)

Sophomore Class – Drew Weatherford (3.346 GPA)

Junior Class – John Frady (3.064 GPA)

Senior Class – David Castillo (3.533 GPA)

Matt Shmauch Academic Achievement Award – Gerard Ross

Special Awards

Bob Crenshaw Award (Biggest Heart) – Andre Fluellen

Don Powell Award (Unsung Hero) – Cory Niblock

Bill McGrotha Award (Humanitarian) – Sam McGrew

Bobby Bowden Appreciation Award – The Marching Chiefs

Performance Awards

Defensive Warrior – Kamerion Wimbley

Offensive Warrior – Willie Reid

Top Conditioned Athlete – Kyler Hall

Scout Team MVP’s (Defense) – Logan Hall and Marcus Ford

Scout Team MVP (Offense) – Jared Whipkey

Newcomer of the Year (Defense) – Tony Carter

Newcomers of the Year (Offense) – Drew Weatherford and Greg Carr

Most Improved Players (Defense) – J.R. Bryant and Alex Boston

Most Improved Player (Offense) – David Overmyer

Special Teams MVP’s (Defense) – Lawrence Timmons and Pat Watkins

Special Teams MVP (Offense) – Willie Reid

Leadership Award (Defense) – Ernie Sims and Kyler Hall

Leadership Award (Offense) – David Castillo

Most Valuable Player (Defense) – Brodrick Bunkley

Most Valuable Players (Offense) – Willie Reid and Chris Davis

Related Articles