April 11, 2017 - by
Seminoles Honored At Men’s Basketball Banquet

TALLAHASSEE, Fla. (seminoles.com) – Seniors Michael Ojo and Jarquez Smith were celebrated and 14 different awards were presented to members of Florida State’s NCAA Tournament team at its annual Honors Banquet at the Champions Club inside Doak Campbell Stadium.  The special event was attended by more than 250 Seminole fans, boosters and members of the Florida State athletics community.

In addition to being honored as a four-year varsity letter winner, Ojo earned awards as the Seminoles’ Outstanding Academic Student-Athlete and outstanding free throw shooter and was recognized by the coaching staff with the Tip of the Spear Award.  The Tip of the Spear Award is presented annually to the member of the men’s basketball team who exemplifies Florida State’s unconquered spirit and who gives unselfishly of himself throughout the season.  Smith was honored for his outstanding career during which he finished eighth in school history for career blocked shots.

Florida State finished the 2016-17 season with a 26-9 overall record and a 12-6 mark in ACC play.  The Seminoles came within one win of tying the school record for wins in a season and tied the school record for ACC victories while earning a perfect 18-0 record in home games at the Donald L. Tucker Center.  The Seminoles tied the school record with a second place finish in the ACC standings and tied the school record with a No. 3 seed as they played in the NCAA Tournament for the 15th time in school history.  Florida State defeated a school-record tying seven ranked teams during the season.

Ojo, who will earn his Master’s Degree in International Affairs in July finished his career tied for seventh in school history with 131 career games played and ranked 19th in school history with 78 career blocked shots.

Smith, who will earn his Bachelor’s Degree in Social Science in May, finished his four-year career at Florida State tied for second in school history for games played (136) and among the top-10 in school history for blocked shots.  Smith played in 12 victories over ranked teams during his career.

Junior Xavier Rathan-Mayes, who was named to the All-ACC Defensive Team for the first time in his career in 2017, earned two awards: The Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player Award and the Otto Petty Assists Award.  He ranked sixth in the ACC in assists (a career-high 4.8 apg) and third in the ACC in assist:turnover ratio (career-high 2.6:1).

Sophomore Dwayne Bacon earned the Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player Award for the second consecutive season.  He averaged a career-high 17.2 points per game as a sophomore as he scored in double figures in 34 of the Seminoles’ 35 games.  Bacon earned All-ACC Second-Team honors as a sophomore.

Rathan-Mayes (1,236 career points, tied for 24th) and Bacon (1,139 career points, 32nd in school history) were presented with commemorative 1,000-point basketballs. Both players reached the 1,000 career points mark during the 2016-17 season – Rathan Mayes against Wake Forest on December 28 and Bacon against Boston College on January 20.

Freshman Jonathan Isaac, who leads all freshmen in the ACC in rebounds, earned the Dave Cowens Chairman of the Board Award.  He averaged a Florida State freshman record 7.8 rebounds per game.  Isaac pulled down his career-high of 15 rebounds against Notre Dame in the second round of the NCAA Tournament.  Isaac earned All-ACC Honorable Mention and All-ACC Freshman Team honors in 2016-17.

Two awards were presented to a group of players with the Sixth Man Award going to the famed Boom Squad (Brandon Allen, Braian Angola-Rodas, Phil Cofer, Trent Forrest, Christ Koumadje, PJ Savoy, Jarquez Smith and CJ Walker) and the Unsung Hero Award going to five different players: Mfiondu Kabengele, Travis Light, Justin Lindner, Harrison Prieto and Will Miles.

Florida State finished the season as the undefeated State of Florida championships with two wins over Miami and victories over both Florida (during the regular season) and Florida Gulf Coast (in the NCAA Tournament).  The Seminoles closed the season tied for 16th in the Associated Press Poll and 24th in the USA Today Coaches Poll.

First Year Academic Achievement: Trent Forrest
Outstanding Academic Student-Athlete: Michael Ojo
Academic Achievement: Brandon Allen
Otto Petty Most Assists: Xavier Rathan-Mayes
Charlie Ward Outstanding Defensive Player: Xavier Rathan-Mayes
Dave Cowens Chairman of the Boards: Jonathan Isaac
Bob Sura Outstanding Offensive Player: Dwayne Bacon
Best Field Goal Percentage: Christ Koumadje
Best 3-Point Field Goal Percentage: Braian Angola-Rodas
Outstanding Free Throw Percentage: Michael Ojo
Mr. Hustle: Terance Mann
Sixth Man: Boom Squad (Brandon Allen, Braian Angola-Rodas, Phil Cofer, Trent Forrest, Christ Koumadje, PJ Savoy, Jarquez Smith, CJ Walker)
Unsung Heroes: Mfiondu Kabengele, Travis Light, Justin Lindner, Harrison Prieto, Will Miles
Tip Of The Spear: Michael Ojo

Seminoles Honored At Men’s Basketball Banquet
Related Articles